PDA

View Full Version : Needle Bearing Clearances

pntrbl
01-04-2009, 10:04 PM
I've been digging on my own and think I know what's needed, but because I've never done this before I'd like to run it a flagpole and see if anybody shoots or salutes.

What I've got is a 16mm needle bearing from McMaster Carr, P/N 5905K58, that I need to fit to a shaft. The McMaster catalog has a bearing tolerance section that says for a 16mm shaft the clearance is +0.000, which surprised me. Shouldn't there be some allowance for expansion?

The minus is -0.011mm which I make out to be 4 tenths. :eek: I may be in trouble!

If I've got this wrong would someone please point out the error of my ways ....

Thanx.

SP

macona
01-04-2009, 10:27 PM
They make a slip on inner race for needle bearings. Can you modify to use one. You will have better life with a ground race.

pntrbl
01-04-2009, 10:37 PM
Yeah. I can cut it down for a sleeve. I was planning on polishing the last tenths but as always, I'm open for options ....

Let's see what I can find on Google.

Thanx Macona,

SP

beckley23
01-04-2009, 10:46 PM
You want a hardened surface for the needles to run on, you don't want to see what happens to a soft surface. Follow Macona's advice about the hardened inner race.
Harry

pntrbl
01-04-2009, 11:31 PM
The things I learn ....

I went ahead and did some polishing and was able to quickly verify that the section of shaft in question is in fact hardened. Well at least it's harder than the 1018 extension I welded on it. A couple of thou came off the 1018 just like I expected, but all the existing part did was get shiny!

A sleeve is the perfect solution. I think you guys saved me from another disaster.

SP

tiptop
01-04-2009, 11:43 PM