PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Challenger Steam Locomotive Plans

TrainNut
08-05-2003, 11:05 AM
Gentlemen (and ladies too),

I’m a newbie to this forum and I have rather strange request. Have you ever had one of those times where you see something and don’t buy it because you think it’s too expensive, only to kick yourself later because you really wished you had gotten it when you had the chance? Well, that’s the situation I find myself in now. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//frown.gif

Back in the spring of 2000, a friend and I went to the N.A.M.E.S. convention in Wyandotte Michigan (I’m from Grand Rapids MI, by the way), because we have always been interested in scale models and quality modeling. While I was there, I stopped by a magazine booth and was looking through some of the old back issues they had on display. In one bundle I saw a series of issues that had the plans for building a scale model of a Challenger articulated steam locomotive. This is the engine that is on display at the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn. I thought seriously of buying them, but they were something like $70, and at the time I didn’t have the money.

I have always regretted not getting them – and now, I’m trying to find those back issues. I couldn’t remember the name of the publication, but I was pretty sure they were located in Traverse City, hence my posting on this forum for assistance.

Does anyone out there know of the magazine – and issues I am referring to? Once I have this information, I can go to the publisher and see if I can buy the back issues.

Thank you for your time and assistance. I really do appreciate it.

Larry Steiner
Grand Rapids, MI
larry.steiner@siemens.com (work)
whiterabbit28@comcast.net (home)

SGW
08-05-2003, 01:43 PM
My first guess would be Live Steam magazine, published by Village Press. An inquiry to one of the links at http://www.livesteam.net/info.html would probably produce an answer.

Another possibility is Modeltec magazine.

Peter S