PDA

View Full Version : Need help from Canadian electricans...

Steve Steven
01-05-2009, 07:31 PM
I have posted before about my friend Frank who has bought a Colchester lathe. It has a two speed Canadian motor on it rated to operate at 575V AC three phase. I am hoping to operate it with a VFD.

First, let me say I am not an electrician and never played one on TV!

We have just gotten a transformer that came with it that is a REX three phase unit. Our problem is that the manufacturers label was painted over, it was stenciled not stamped. When I tried to get the paint off so I could read the label, it took off the stenciling also. What I was able to read was "Output Volts 575" and "HP 5.5". (the motor is 3HP) The Input Volts part of the label was ruined but it may have started with a "2".

I tried calling the manufacturer, he was no help at all. (even tho I had a part number [00746] off of the transformer coil)

My question to the group is, "What is the standard voltage in a Canadian industrial three phase system that would start with a '2'?" I am hoping that this is a 240 to 575 volt transformer, or that it will be close enough to work with a 240V input.

The next thing I am going to try is to put 120V to the input side of one of the transformers and read the output side with a voltmeter, this should give me the ratio and I can get a feel of what it will do with 240V input.

However, this three phase transformer set is a bit different than what I am used to, there are only three wires coming out from each of the three transformers in the box, with only two places to connect to on each transformer. There is a "X" terminal which is output, an "H" terminal which is input, on each transformer. There is a wire at the bottom of each transformer which connects all three transformers together. How does this work? I assume that the wire connecting the three transformers is a common for both the low voltage and the high voltage?