PDA

View Full Version : 3 Phase start/stop switch.

gearhead
01-06-2009, 09:42 PM
Need to buy a 3 phase start/stop switch for a Powermatic drill press. Looking for some help on a place with reasonable prices. I didn't know these switches were so expensive.

Fasttrack
01-06-2009, 09:47 PM
I had similiar issues with the motor control for my Pacemakers. I'm no electrician, so you might want to wait for input from some of our more electrically savy members, but the Surplus Center has some good deals. I found a solid state motor control rated at 10 horse for something like 60 bucks. Much much cheaper than the mechanical relays, but had the same basic features.

Boucher
01-06-2009, 10:16 PM
The cost is going to be determined by what you really want to do. If you need thermal imballance & overload protection you will need the correct heaters etc. with an appropiate contactor. If you are just wanting to turn a three phase 3HP motor on and off with a small switch, then a magnetic contactor from Grainger or from a local air cond supply house will do that and be cheaper.

J Tiers
01-06-2009, 10:28 PM
If it is 1 HP or less, all you need is a 3 pole "manual contactor"... i.e. a switch.

rdfeil
01-07-2009, 12:38 AM
Gearhead,

Depending on what you want to do, check out www.automationdirect.com they have manual motor starters rated from very small to quite large and the price is right for that type of stuff. That is not to say cheep, just reasonable. The manual motor starters have thermal trip settings to proteect the motor from overload built in. If you go that way you will need to know the full load current for the motor and order the corect switch. You will also need a box to mount it into and any accessories for the install. Check them out and you can download the specifications on the switches.

Robin

Usual disclaimers... not associated with AD just a satisfied customer bla bla bla :D

Ian B
01-07-2009, 12:47 AM
Gearhead,

What prices did you find?