PDA

View Full Version : Air Nibbler

jfsmith
08-10-2003, 12:20 AM
I bought one those HF pneimatic nibblers today for $19.95 today. Finally got the time to play with it. It's a great tool to have around. I do a lot of sheet metal work, for artistic things, and have used the nibbler, that I go way back when I was an electronics tech, which was small nibbles for every squeeze of the grip. The new one really zips thru sheet metal.

Jerry

CCWKen
08-10-2003, 01:15 AM
Jerry, what air pressure do you run through yours?
I got one a while back, used it once, then stuck it in the cabinet. I thought it was hard to control so I went back to the air shear.
It could be that I was running too high a pressure. I just didn't play around with it. In too big a hurry.
I may drag mine back out an give it another try.

ibewgypsie
08-10-2003, 02:07 AM
I broke my tawain model today.. too thick metal..(11 guage)

shucks,, and I really liked it.. too..

abn
08-10-2003, 02:46 AM
They're great! For the price...might pick up some extra dies now to save down time. They say they'll work up to 16 guage steel. Mine did great on 20 gauge cold rolled sheet, but constantly hung up and finally the die cracked when I did a .060" (16 guage) project.

jfsmith
08-10-2003, 02:31 PM
I run mine at 40 psi, thats what I use for many of my tools in my fine work area. This nibbler zipped thru 16 gauge copper with out any problems and some thinner aluminum it was going warp speed.

I haven't tried it on sheet steel yet, but maybe another day I will find out. I do know that if you run the pressure too high, tools get wrecked or if you try to do something that is way out of spec, the tool will probably jam up.

These past experiences cost me an pneumatic engraver and a really nice dental drill.

Jerry

jfsmith
08-10-2003, 03:22 PM
I am using a 4.5 HP, 21 gallon upright compressor in my fine shop. the HF number is ITEM 47065-2VGA. This is wonderful little compressor, I may buy one for my hot shop.

Jerry