PDA

View Full Version : smithy machines

michaelj
01-21-2002, 06:22 PM
I would like to know if anyone has any experience with (or opinions about) the Smithy Midas 1220 machine. I am a newbie although I took several quarters of a machine shop course about 16 years ago. Space is a major consideration in my shop. Thanks in advance.

old sass
01-21-2002, 07:57 PM
This is a sore subject with me. I am a newbie and the Smithy 12220xl I purchased was not exactly user friendly. Quite the opposite! If I was starting from stratch, with limited room, and limited budget. I would consider one of the 7x10 mini lathes like on Varmint Al's website. They can be tuned up to do good work, then maybe ad a benchtop mini-mill and tune it up also. You could do some small projects, gain experience and have fun for $1000 to 1500 including tools and gizmos. I really did not like my 3 in 1. Best of luck!

rmatel
01-21-2002, 08:44 PM
I have owned a Smithy 1220 LTD for about 7 mos now. The other 1220s do not have 2 motors and therefore cannot power feed while "milling". I used quotes on milling 'cuz the machine isn't rigid enough to do more than light cuts while milling. Lots of tuning up required. Also the wide carriage(mill table) and oddball tailstock make turning short pieces between centers almost impossible. If I were to do it over, I would opt for separate machines. If I couldn't afford both I would rig up a tabletop drill press behind the lathe to use as a milling head until I could get a real mill.

shooter
01-22-2002, 09:32 AM