PDA

View Full Version : New 3PH 1HP USA motor, seems like good deal



Kevin Ladenheim
01-17-2009, 12:12 AM
Was looking for a 3PH 1HP motor to use with a VFD. Wanted TEFC. Found item 10-2127 at Surplus Sales. The make is Sever. Thought it would be from Serbia from what I found on the web but the plate says it's a Danish company and this example was built in the USA. It has an aluminum casing with cooling fins and cast integral feet. Continuous duty. Not bad for $79.99 compared to what a similar Marathon goes for.

Lots of wires! Are T1-T3 for 3PH and the rest for 460V operation?

lazlo
01-17-2009, 12:26 AM
Boy, it sure looks like Sever is in Serbia :)

ATB SEVER a.d.
Magnetna polja 6
24000 Subotica
Serbia

http://www.sever.co.yu/english/products/ffproizvodi.html

http://www.sever.co.yu/proizvodi/images/nismot01.jpg

http://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?UID=2009011622210012&catname=&qty=1&item=10-2127

http://www.surpluscenter.com/images/p10-2128C.jpg

Kevin Ladenheim
01-17-2009, 12:32 AM
I found an even closer match before I ordered it. It seems the Serbian operation was a company that Sever acquired. It's strange that they have production in the US but I couldn't find anyone carrying the line.

Dawai
01-17-2009, 08:38 AM
230 vac 9 wire motor normal connections..

tie 4,5,6 in one wire nut..
1&7 to inverter T1
2&8 to inverter T2
3&9 to inverter T3...
The internal connections are now paralleled so they can run a lower voltage.
Away you go..

460 connections...
4&7 one wire nut
5&8 one wire nut
6&9 one wire nut
1 T1
2 T2
3 T3

European-Japanese style motors have lil flat copper links.. no wire nuts needed.
They make the internal winding voltage taps that way..

12 lead, non-standard motors require different hookup.. please refer to the legend plate on the motor... or a decent book familiar with motor..

Evan
01-17-2009, 08:51 AM
I found an even closer match before I ordered it. It seems the Serbian operation was a company that Sever acquired. It's strange that they have production in the US but I couldn't find anyone carrying the line.


To qualify for "Made in USA" labeling it only needs enough work done to it to change the duty classification. That could be as little as installing the electrical box on the top or maybe a paint job.

QSIMDO
01-17-2009, 11:41 AM
From the FTC;

The Standard For Unqualified Made In USA Claims
What is the standard for a product to be called Made in USA without qualification?
For a product to be called Made in USA, or claimed to be of domestic origin without qualifications or limits on the claim, the product must be "all or virtually all" made in the U.S. The term "United States," as referred to in the Enforcement Policy Statement, includes the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories and possessions.

What does "all or virtually all" mean?
"All or virtually all" means that all significant parts and processing that go into the product must be of U.S. origin. That is, the product should contain no or negligible foreign content.

What substantiation is required for a Made in USA claim?
When a manufacturer or marketer makes an unqualified claim that a product is Made in USA, it should have and rely on a "reasonable basis" to support the claim at the time it is made. This means a manufacturer or marketer needs competent and reliable evidence to back up the claim that its product is "all or virtually all" made in the U.S.