PDA

View Full Version : Intro & Question

soundmotor
01-18-2009, 05:16 PM
Hello:

I am a metalwork hobbyist and have been involved for many years mostly with manual projects such as blacksmithing, file work, etc. Recently I came into possession of a table saw using (I think) an 8" blade. It is a typical home shop type from the 1950's with heavy duty cast-iron construction but in general is pretty small with roughly a 12"x15" footprint without the motor. I have a full-size table saw and don't need another so I am thinking about putting an abrasive chop saw wheel on it and using it for free-shaping of non-ferrous material. I've read that on some saws the arbor bearing are easy to ruin from the side-action but others hold up OK. This saw looks quite stout in that regard and I am wondering if there is away to assess the bearing suitability by eyeball?

Off the wall question I know, and Hello!

;)

John Stevenson
01-18-2009, 05:24 PM
Abrasive chop saw blades load up when used on non ferrous metals, basically they clog and glaze over, you then need more force to push the metal thru and usually they explode.

Optics Curmudgeon
01-18-2009, 06:17 PM
Just curious, is it a Sears with a model number starting with 103? If so it's made by King-Seely, I had a number of Sears table saws, one of which fit your description. King-Seely used Hoover water pump bearing cartridges as the arbors in the saws they built for Sears. I used my 8 inch as a disk sander for years and it worked fine. It's still going, in someone else's shop.

Joe

topct
01-18-2009, 06:42 PM
Chop saw wheels are not made to cut on the side. But you could use one as a nibbler. Adapting some disc grinder wheels might be interesting.

What if you were to make a steel/iron/aluminum disc that fit the saws arbor. You could stick all kinds of sanding discs onto it.

Weston Bye
01-18-2009, 06:49 PM