PDA

View Full Version : Grain Direction for Firearm

jerry45
01-23-2002, 10:35 PM
I'm new to use of a vertical mill and I'm going to try and machine a side plate (4" X 15") for a semi-automatic firearm. In looking to purchase some 4130 material, the question was posed "indicate which direction you want the grain". From what I can see, the side plate does not take any substantial stress other that some friction rubbing from the bolt blowing back. This plate makes up the right side of the receiver box. It is riveted to the rest of the "box". Does grain direction make a difference? Note - this item does not have to be heat treated. Thanks for any input!

Thrud
01-24-2002, 12:43 AM
jerry;

Metals generally do not show "grain" unless sectioned and treated with various chemicals to etch the sample for observation under microscope. You may be refering to the direction of milling marks on the steel - they should run in the direction of the part sliding over it to minimize friction. The surface could be polished out and then it would not matter what direction the machining marks run.

Dave

halfnut
01-24-2002, 10:14 AM
I presume the seller of bar stock asked the question? For instance if you wanted a piece 2x4x?thick, he could cut that part out of 2 or 4" bar. Rolled bar stock is a bit stronger with the grain, kinda like wood, but the difference in strenth beween the 2 dirrections is often neglegiable.

I forge my knives, I think proper grain alignment is important on something like a blade, as is edge packing.

For your application, I wouldn't worry about it.

pogo
01-24-2002, 02:10 PM
So you are working on a 1919 sideplate? Me too! Grain direction shouldn't matter a bit. I wonder why he even bothered asking.

Good luck with your 1919.

jerry45
01-24-2002, 09:45 PM