PDA

View Full Version : Another Newbee

fdew
02-05-2009, 09:11 AM
Hello from another newbee

Just a quick introduction. Questions will follow (Grin)

I have always been interested in and worked around mechanical things. For the last 16 years I have been a self employed Mechanical Designer. I learned years ago that the best way to design was to make a lot of visits to the shop and listen a lot.

About 20 years ago I bought a used lathe and mill and used them for repairs and a occasional small job. last year I bought a antique clock (Synchronome). It was cheep because it was missing a few parts. I made the parts and found I really enjoyed it so for Christmas my wife gave me a steam engine casting kit. I am having a ball, and giving my knowledge a real stretch. Also giving one of my vendors some fun as he teaches me a few tricks. Usually I am sending him drawings. Now he get's to say, "How are you going to do that"
I found I needed to add some tooling (Grin) and I figured out how to add X and Y digital readout to the mill for $40, so with the help I have found on the web I am cooking.

Anyway, I have been lurking for a while and I am sure I will have questions.

Thanks in advance

Frank

garagemark
02-05-2009, 09:21 AM
Hey Frank. Welcome, I'm a two day member myself.

You mentioned a rigged up DRO for forty bucks? Give up some particulars. I have forty bucks! :D

Carld
02-05-2009, 09:47 AM
Welcome to the site Frank.

fdew
02-05-2009, 09:49 AM
It's crude, but here is the story. I found that I could buy a 6 in and a 8 in digital caliper on ebay for $40

My mill has a travel of 7.4 X 18 inch

The trick is to mount one end to the machine and NOT hard connect the other end. This allows me to exceed the range of the Calipers with out pulling them apart. I setup the X so that I can easily adjust where the 8 in range is.

Pictures are attached linked. BTW The reason for the extra holes and other oddities is that I used what was laying around for mounting.