PDA

View Full Version : 3 Jaw Chuck Runout

34Ford
08-09-2003, 11:38 PM
I just purchased a Jet 13" x 40" bench lathe new. My impressions on the machine so far are positive, but I do have an issue with runout when chucking barstock in the 3 jaw chuck, to me it seems excessive and looking for thoughts on what I might do. With the chuck removed I indicated the spindle. Radial runout is .0002" and axial runout is .0002" With the chuck mounted and holding a piece of round cold rolled material (I know this is not the most accurate but for my purposes now it is round enough)I get more runout than I think I should. The chuck is a 6" dia 3 jaw with a D1-4 mount. I have mounted the chuck in the 3 different possible positions and get the following runout when indicating the stock, .034, .038 & .040. I am a home/hobby machinist and this is my first experience with a new chuck, am I expecting too much from an inexpensive chuck? I have not contacted Jet yet, looking for comments from people with more experience on something like this than I have. Any constructive thoughts will be appreciated.
Regards, 34 Ford.

Evan
08-10-2003, 12:15 AM
Ford,

How close to the chuck are you getting .034? Try some different sizes of stock. If you obtain similar results close to the chuck after re-seating the stock several times and with different sizes of stock you have a beef. I would not expect to see more than .004 at most. As has been said before, make sure the jaws are in the right place.

CCWKen
08-10-2003, 12:23 AM
Yikes! That is some BIG runout. You need to check runout using ground rod or drill rod. Cold rolled won't be very accurate. Get something or turn something and measure the diameter at 90* spots. (Quarters) Then, do the rest below.