PDA

View Full Version : Looking for TECO experience



oddball racing
02-26-2009, 07:10 PM
I needed a VFD for an old M-Head BPort which as most of us know, is only 1/2 horsepower.
I bought a larger VFD than I need (rated 1 HP) counting on upgrading to a larger motor of which ended up going missing.:( Can I use the 1HP TECO drive on the 1/2 horse motor for now?

It is a Model Number: JNEV 201-H1..
240Volt 1PH IN, 240V3PH OUT

Anyone do anything similar?
Thanks, Mike

ammcoman2
02-26-2009, 07:49 PM
I have a 1HP Teco (same voltages) running a 3/4hp motor so I can't see why your setup won't work.

Geoff

lazlo
02-26-2009, 08:19 PM
Can I use the 1HP TECO drive on the 1/2 horse motor for now?

Absolutely. I have a 3 HP VFD driving a 2 HP motor, and it's fine.

MickeyD
02-26-2009, 09:11 PM
I ran a 7.5 HP motor on a 3HP Teco for a year and it did fine, just didn't push it too hard.

Jim Caudill
02-26-2009, 09:48 PM
You can always use a bigger VFD on a smaller motor, in fact, it is reccommended to do so when using single-phase in three-phase out in the larger horsepowers. I think most manufacturers allow for the phase conversion in their smaller hp models (say less than 5hp). MickeyD's scenario is what you need to watch out for, particularly if he's feeding it single phase; probably not too bad if he's doing 3-phase in and 3-phase out.

lazlo
02-26-2009, 10:11 PM
I ran a 7.5 HP motor on a 3HP Teco for a year and it did fine, just didn't push it too hard.

That's OK until you load the motor. :)