PDA

View Full Version : OT: Prospecting the Moon from my back yard

Evan
03-09-2009, 11:02 AM
I took some images of the almost full moon last night using my telescope and the Canon 300D. When I studied them I noticed a trace of color so I enhanced it.

Without enhancement the moon looks like this:

http://ixian.ca/pics6/moonprospect1.jpg

The same image with the color saturation boosted looks like this:

http://ixian.ca/pics6/moonprospect2.jpg

Upon doing some research it turns out the blue areas are rich in titanium while the pink areas are poor in titanium and iron. That was confirmed on site by the lunar landing missions.

Carld
03-09-2009, 11:05 AM
That's interesting Evan. No wonder they want to mine the moon.

Evan
03-09-2009, 11:12 AM
There are a lot more color indicators that can be brought out but I selected only those colors because otherwise it is a complete mish-mash. I don't know why I haven't heard of this. Most likely I have but had forgotten.

I will be off line a good part of the day. I have to see the dentist...:(

pcarpenter
03-09-2009, 11:47 AM
I have to laugh because "enhance" is the term used in all these idiotic tv shows where they can magically take a low-resoution shot from a cheap security camera and make the license plate completely readable :rolleyes:

You do have to wonder, however, about the accuracy of saturating color that is present in an image taken from earth. The light passes through our atmosphere and I would think that what makes it the many miles to the surface is probably well "filtered". What's left to enhance would (I would think) not accurately reflect the spectrum thats actually being reflected from the surface. For example, our atmosphere turns the ambient light we get from the sun very blue...and I don't know that that accurately reflects the actual spectrum that's being radiated into space.