PDA

View Full Version : What length lathe?

garagemark
04-09-2009, 10:53 AM
Didn't want to hijack my own thread concerning restoration, but again, I got to thinking. And since you guys have been there, I'll confer with you.

I am a hobbyist.... and nothing more. I want a lathe- for nothing in particular. At this point a freakin mini lathe would do what I need. But I want a larger machine, simply because I will be ABLE to chuck up some bigger parts. I have a lot of projects in mind. So I am settled on a 10" or larger (but not much) swing. Now we get to the length. Again, currently I need no more than six inches. But that is going to change. I originally thought, arbitrarily, that 24" was the shortest I'd go. That number came from the length of a typical gun barrel. No I am not going to make a gun (I might make a cannon though). But I have to quantify length in some way.

Now this Monarch I'm eyeing for restoration (eh... maybe, maybe not) is a 20". So, how many of you wish you had gone longer? How about shorter? How did you arrive at the length decision, or was that all that was available to you at the time?

I'm telling you, if you all put up with me long enough, I'll end up with exactly the right tool and will never regret what I did. So, thanks again folks.

Frank Ford
04-09-2009, 11:08 AM
My Sharp Hardinge HLV clone claims 18" length, and that's been just fine for me. In the five years I've owned it, the length has never been a problem for me. Once or twice a year I wish I had an inch or two more swing, but so far I've always found a "workaround."

One thing for sure, I'd never want to give up that incredible Hardinge style threading setup - retractible tool post, auto stops, inch/metric gearbox!

Most of my work is small - take a look at my Web site,HomeShopTech (http://www.homeshoptech.com), to see the kind of thing I do:

Spin Doctor
04-09-2009, 11:11 AM
Sewveral factors enter in to this