PDA

View Full Version : O.T.-Coleman Lantern

KyMike
04-17-2009, 01:26 AM
The power in my neighborhood has been off for about a week twice in the past 6 months, and when I saw a good buy on a used Coleman lantern with several spare mantles, I grabbed it for future emergency use. I'm not experienced with these lamps and was wondering if they need that expensive fuel that Coleman sells, or will regular unleaded gas work? Gasoline here contains some sort of pollution control additive. At one time it had something called MTBE-TAME in it, but supposedly that was turning up in the groundwater and they took it out. I don't know what they use now. Also are these lamps safe to operate indoors?

Mike

dp
04-17-2009, 01:46 AM
The definitive guide to liquid fuel lamps and lanterns is a site I host. I have no part in its operation except to be sure it's always on line:

http://www.lampguild.org/

There is a searchable archive that I installed with great difficulty, and there is a good amount of information regarding appropriate fuels for a great many Coleman products. If the archives fail to turn up anything you can ask a question of the lamp guild experts. I'm continuously amazed at the zeal and expertise these folks have for all things to do with lamps. One of my more entertaining customers. Don't mention EBAY!!!

barts
04-17-2009, 01:58 AM
The power in my neighborhood has been off for about a week twice in the past 6 months, and when I saw a good buy on a used Coleman lantern with several spare mantles, I grabbed it for future emergency use. I'm not experienced with these lamps and was wondering if they need that expensive fuel that Coleman sells, or will regular unleaded gas work? Gasoline here contains some sort of pollution control additive. At one time it had something called MTBE-TAME in it, but supposedly that was turning up in the groundwater and they took it out. I don't know what they use now. Also are these lamps safe to operate indoors?

Mike