PDA

View Full Version : Carbide inserts: Please educate me

seatlanta
04-19-2009, 12:43 PM
I must be dumb as dirt because I can't figure out which triangular inserts I need to buy for my generic lathe tool holders (They each came with an insert, and they're all worn out.)

I've researched every Website I can find, and I'm still confused.

I've measured the insert and can't get an exact match, although I can come close. Here are the critical numbers (as I measured them):
Side: .625
Thickness: .168
I.C. (by way of formula): .36 (probably should be 3/8"?)
Hole diameter: .135 (for 1/8" screw?)I think I need a TCMT3xxx or TCMW3xxx. Am I correct?

I'm a hobbyist and I cut whatever I can find in someone's scrap pile--usually mild steel and aluminum. Because of my scrounging nature, I do lots and lots of roughing down to size.

I just need some designations for general-purpose inserts so that I can shop around.

Also, I have trouble finding the hole diameter in various specs. Is the approximate 1/8" diameter a standard?

Any advice is appreciated.

Best wishes.
James (seatlanta)

Tim Clarke
04-19-2009, 01:25 PM
Even guys who sell inserts for a living don't know it all, especially when you add in milling inserts. Not to worry about the size of the hole, though. It would seem that they're standard for the size ot the insert. It does matter if the hole is plain, for a holder where the insert is installed on a pin, and held by a clamp, or countersunk and held by a screw.

I get my inserts from a buddy who owns a shop. I get lots of chips from his castoffs. I've got the opposite problem as you; I have to buy holders by looking at the inserts.

I take it you have the 1/2" square shank, screw on triangle holders that come in a 5 piece set from a catalog company or the internet. The set of those I used to have used TCMT 321 inserts. It wasn't that those were the only type that would work, they were the ones that were easy to find and most reasonably priced.