PDA

View Full Version : Von Wyck 15x60 & introduction

Dutch51
04-23-2009, 04:38 AM
Since I'm going to start posting here regularly I should probably say howdy doo. I'm 57 and live in the far north of California. I've been a home machinist since 1979 when I bought the Von Wyck lathe mfg circa 1905. I took a year of tool-machine engineering at Los Angeles Pierce College in 1970. I had a lot of fun with the Von Wyck for about 25 years. I also snagged a very old ratty 10" Atlas that I used for small stuff and speedy stuff. Generally I liked the Atlas as a light duty lathe and it was very accurate with 3C collets. I've walked a great distance with the spirit of old American machinery. It was some grand travels for a time.

http://images111.fotki.com/v732/photos/2/28344/474695/la10-vi.jpg

About 1982 I finally got a mill. An Index Model 40H that was made in 1942 and used by Douglas Aircraft in Long Beach, Calif for making airplanes for the US Navy. I paid about $1,200 for the Index back then and I still have it and still use it. Its been a fine mill for home use. Usable table size is 8x22" and it weighs 1,200 lbs.

http://images19.fotki.com/v33/photos/2/28344/474753/m6-vi.jpg

In 2004 at the age of 52 I had a heart attack and bypass surgery while living in northern Indiana. From then until Sept 2006 my machine shop activities were mostly nothing. I moved to northern Calif to live with my daughter's family in 2006 but it wasn't until Sept 2008 that they had built a dedicated shop for Opa. Its 11 1/2 feet x 17 feet and is attached to the backside of the garage and underneath the new deck. Bright well lit with white painted walls. Its a pretty nice shop.

http://images42.fotki.com/v1379/photos/2/28344/6717603/sq11-vi.jpg