PDA

View Full Version : ODD THING, got the pee shocked out of me welding

Dawai
04-23-2009, 04:46 PM
I was laying underneath a truck, ground clamp on truck frame.. Working on hydraulic lines.. the stinger (welding clamp with a rod) laying on the floor.

The ground fell off onto my lower stomach, I had very little clearance under the truck and when it started shocking me I could not get away from it. I was humping and jumping.. I saw colors. No real personality changes so I can tell from shock therapy...

I have been welding for more than 35 years and never been shocked like that. I have electric stick welded in the rain on chemical skids where you had to put the rods in with insulated pliers and never been hit like that.

Ya'll be careful.

It was my Miller synchrowave 200, welder grounded properly, building and concrete rebar grounded also.. no clue.. a brand new experience I don't wish to try again.

madman
04-23-2009, 04:59 PM
A little electroshock supposed to be good for yeah? If it wasnt why did all those Shrinks zap patients with it? Take care

Lu47Dan
04-23-2009, 07:11 PM
David , I started my welding career as a welders helper out on the pipelines , got shocked right regular doing that job . :eek: Moved on to be a journeyman steamfitter , carrying weld certs , I have been "BUZZED" too many times to count since then . Most of them have been a combination of damp concrete floors and damp leads . In your case you completed the circuit and got the short end of it .
I crawled in under a Large industrial boiler to make the final weld on a 4" sch 80 condensate drain and had the same thing happen to me . Not fun when it happens but funny a few years later . I started that weld after morning break and finished up just after one in the afternoon , then crawled out after the apprentice dragged the stinger and cables out . If I had it to do over I would have sent the apprentice in with the stinger and the cables first then crawled in . :rolleyes: Dan

boslab