PDA

View Full Version : Using a insert for threading?

mototed
05-03-2009, 01:41 PM
I ordered one of these http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PMAKA=327-0394 I need a 1" x 14 tpi internal all the way to a shoulder. Thought I'd give one a try. I have been using HSS hand ground tools. My question is do these work in the same maner as far as compound set at 29.5 to the left? Can you still use slow speeds?
Tanks in advance for your time
Ted

J. R. Williams
05-03-2009, 01:47 PM
I have been using the small version of the tool for many years and it works in the same manner as any threading tool. Be careful and not hit the end of the tool against the bottom of the hole.
JRW

juergenwt
05-03-2009, 02:11 PM
Why would you go to carbide?

mototed
05-03-2009, 02:31 PM
I confess, I just wanted a new tool/toy to play with:)
This also looked like a quick solution to bottom threads in 4140 steel.
I do OK at grinding bits, but for some reason I can't wrap my head around on how to make a tool that will thread all the way to the bottom stop
Ted

SDL
05-03-2009, 02:47 PM
Why would you go to carbide?

To get a full form tool with crest as well as tip radi?

Steve Larner

Glenn Wegman
05-03-2009, 04:34 PM
Why not use a left hand tool and thread away from the shoulder?

Thread in reverse with the tool on the far side facing away from you if you have concerns about hitting the shoulder. Just requires a small relief groove at the shoulder.

Unless you have a threaded spindle nose of course!

Glenn

DR
05-03-2009, 05:10 PM
With a full profile insert you can get the correct pitch diameter by only measuring the OD (male thread) or ID (female thread).

Those are not the recommended way for precision thread measuring, but they work.

juergenwt
05-04-2009, 03:04 PM