PDA

View Full Version : just to introduce myself

machineryrepairman
05-10-2009, 06:01 AM
Ive been a member for awhile but just been reading. Im interested in wedling machining and mechanics.
I have experience in all 3. Ive been a machinist in the navy for 11 years and a hobby welder for 9. I build off road vehicles and parts for them.
I joine this forum becuase Im interesed in getting some machine shop equipment for my garage. Im really interested in the rotarty phase converters and how they work. Im not good at electricity but i need to learn how those work so i can hook my machines up.
So are most of you guys hobbyists or do this for a living

rockrat
05-10-2009, 07:59 AM
So are most of you guys hobbyists or do this for a living

Welcome!
To answer your question, it depends. As you search the past threads you will find that the membership ranges from individuals that just barley get into machining to those who own their own machine shops. Thats why I like it here, there is a good mix.

Rotary phase converters are not difficult but they do require the standard "think safe" approach. Capacitor sizes, wiring diagrams and more have been discussed here so a search of the forum will bring up all sorts of good data.

Let us know when you start looking for machines, we will want to see how your doing and what your first project will be!

rock~

jimmstruk
05-10-2009, 12:34 PM
Welcome aboard, keep us posted on your projects. JIM

motorcyclemac
05-10-2009, 03:50 PM
Welcome to the list,

Phase converters are quite nice. I decided to buy one from MSC for about a grand. I have a business here and wanted some warranty and dependability. I bought a 7.5 horse Phase-a-matic.

http://www.phase-a-matic.com/RotaryDescription.htm