PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Threads

jb-mck
05-10-2009, 10:33 PM
I'm new to machining. I am trying to learn how to cut threads in mild steel. When I cut the threads they appear to be galled, very rough. I am not using any lubrication or coolant. Also using a carbide insert type bit.

My procedure is to turn the shaft down to the maximum diameter, then start laying threads about .005 per pass. I am turning down to the minimum diameter using the cross slide.

Should I use the compound slide instead?

My guess is that I should be using a HSS bit with a radius that matches my thread root and use a coolant. I am hoping somebody can point me in the right direction.

Thanks.

quadrod
05-10-2009, 10:59 PM
Hi Jb, what grade of steel are you using? Softer steels like rebar or 1018 are very hard to get a good finish on. Also use some thread cutting oil. Most prefer the dark cutting fluid like you find at Home depot or Lowes. I just use the Lps gold that i have. Try cutting threads in some 12L14 or some 1144 stress prof and you will probably have better results. Also feeding with the compound set at 29 degrees tens to help in that the cutter does most of the cutting with the leading edge instead of both edges.

jb-mck
05-10-2009, 11:07 PM
I assume it is 1018 CRS. I picked up some cutoffs from work to practice on.

Bill Pace
05-10-2009, 11:42 PM
Its very difficult to get smooth threads on cold rolled, they will be quite gnarly looking. A good sharp HSS bit carefully set as precisely as you can get it and at least some type cutting oil with light cuts will give you the best results, but will probably still not be 'pretty threads'.

Mike Burdick
05-10-2009, 11:52 PM
.... I am not using any lubrication....

I'd say that is the major source of your problem! Get some dark thread cutting oil at a True Value Hardware store, Lowe's, or Home Depot and use it liberally!

Astronowanabe
05-11-2009, 01:50 AM
I'm new to machining.