PDA

View Full Version : Fly cutting cast iron

michael3fingers
05-16-2009, 07:42 AM
HI everyone.

I am new to machining and I have just started flycutting some cylinder heads for my mini.

I was using a face mill but I have just started using my fly cutter and some 3/8 tool steel.

I ground it with a bit of an angle on the face.

The end result is better but its still pretty average and I could certainly not charge for that kind of job.

I have a RF 45 Clone that I ran on the next speed up from slowest.
I fed the work into the cutter really slow and took only a very light cut.

Any Pointers?

http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/mickstar_2006/Picture314.jpghttp://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/mickstar_2006/Picture313.jpg

thanks everyone

websterz
05-16-2009, 12:24 PM
HI everyone.

I am new to machining and I have just started flycutting some cylinder heads for my mini.

I was using a face mill but I have just started using my fly cutter and some 3/8 tool steel.

I ground it with a bit of an angle on the face.

The end result is better but its still pretty average and I could certainly not charge for that kind of job.

I have a RF 45 Clone that I ran on the next speed up from slowest.
I fed the work into the cutter really slow and took only a very light cut.

Any Pointers?

http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/mickstar_2006/Picture314.jpghttp://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l13/mickstar_2006/Picture313.jpg

thanks everyone

Looks like your machine may be slightly out of tram. All the visible tooling marks go the same direction. I bet the cutter is taking a bit more on one edge than it is on the other.

Once you resolve that issue if you still don't have the surface you desire you may try lapping the part on a hard flat surface with some 600 grit wet/dry paper.
I lap cast iron dry, seems to work better for me.

Also some close-up pics of your cutter would be helpful. Fly cutters can be finicky to grind.

Scishopguy
05-16-2009, 06:02 PM