PDA

View Full Version : Endmills...

Liger Zero
05-19-2009, 07:19 PM
Ok the print shop I work at I do quite a few fixtures, tools and odds and ends out of aluminum. Mostly 6061 and "wait, what... there are different KINDS of aluminum?!" mystery-metal.

Now that I've proved that I can make the Bridgeport go, Boss wants to know what sort of endmills we should be ordering. I showed him a catalog and we're both kind of bewildered. He had been grabbing 2 and 4 flute mills from Fastenal as they get battered.

Now I know just enough to get me in trouble, being a home-shopper and all... My machine of choice is the lathe not the mill so I could use a few pointers. Normally I get my endmills from Little Machine Shop for home use.

What sort of endmills should we be using given the information I specifed above?

kmccubbin
05-19-2009, 08:03 PM
Well, I'm no expert, but I recently tried some 3 flute endmills and I like them. Seems to be the best of both worlds. It might save you from telling him you need an assortment of 2 flute AND an assortment of 4 flute.

Kerry

dockrat
05-19-2009, 08:07 PM
this is my favorite source for endmills for cutting AL:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/1-2-3FL-USA-Harmonicut-AL-carbide-end-mil-Zir-14739_W0QQitemZ390051428788QQihZ026QQcategoryZ2526 0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1713.m153.l1262

Bruce Griffing
05-19-2009, 08:15 PM
A good source of end mills is Lake Shore

http://www.lakeshorecarbide.com/

I know carbide is expensive, but it is lower cost in the long run. Also, if you have been buying from fastenal, it won't seem so bad.

Note that it is best to buy specific mills for the material you use. Call the Lake Shore and ask for advise.

sansbury
05-19-2009, 08:44 PM
What sort of endmills should we be using given the information I specifed above?