PDA

View Full Version : Extension Cord



ligito
05-20-2009, 05:17 PM
http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/for/1174794902.htm

ROFL

websterz
05-20-2009, 06:50 PM
http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/for/1174794902.htm

ROFL

404...nothing there.

dan s
05-21-2009, 12:20 PM
I think he means this.

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/for/1174794902.html

websterz
05-21-2009, 12:34 PM
Ooooooookay. That guy is just dangerous.

fredf
05-21-2009, 12:47 PM
Ooooooookay. That guy is just dangerous.

10/3 might be ok for low duty cycle (welder), but certainly not for compressors etc. Did you notice that it is 10/3 ROMEX??? (clue: stiff, double ground) if he paid $250 he got rooked big time! Romex should NOT be used for extension cord. period.

--fred

Lew Hartswick
05-21-2009, 05:39 PM
> wire spec: 10 gauge, 3 wire, double ground,
600v, stiff but still flexible <

I've worked domestic and comercial wiring from entrances to all sorts
of equipment and never heard of "double ground".
What is he talking about?
...lew...

Bmyers
05-21-2009, 05:39 PM
Romex should NOT be used for extension cord. period.

--fred

A range receptacle should not be used for an extension cord either

Evan
05-21-2009, 07:55 PM
It's not Romex. It's the same as this cord that I cut off a dryer. The price isn't that bad either. Try pricing 320 feet of 10 ga copper wire plus two connectors.

http://ixian.ca/pics6/cord.jpg

JCHannum
05-21-2009, 08:09 PM
It might go under some name other than Romex, but it is solid wire, not flexible and it and the connectors are not proper and should not be used for a portable cord.

Double ground might mean it is on both ends?

Evan
05-21-2009, 08:17 PM
How do you know it is solid wire? It doesn't say it is. The cord I show is stranded 10 ga. It isn't particularly flexible either.

http://ixian.ca/pics6/wire2.jpg

Weston Bye
05-21-2009, 08:17 PM
Double Ground (poorly named) - 4 wire cord: 2 hot wires (red and black insulation), neutral (white insulation) and (uninsulated or green insulation) ground.

websterz
05-21-2009, 09:15 PM
I have never seen wire like that on an appliance. Maybe they have different regs in Canada?

goose
05-21-2009, 09:22 PM
Maybe I should have checked with you all before I did my own wiring.............

http://garymchxx.home.comcast.net/~garymchxx/best.jpg

yuk, yuk,


Gary

Evan
05-21-2009, 09:27 PM
The code here is just about identical to the NEC. There are a few small areas where the Canadian code is slightly more stringent but I don't know of any that are looser.

Carld
05-21-2009, 10:38 PM
Gary, I won't tell about your wiring if you don't :D .

I can't tell you how many extension cords for welders, etc. that have the same 3 prong 50A ends on them that I have used in various shops. I have one I use in my shop but it has SO cord rated for 50A and it's only about 25 ft. It sure comes in handy and I use it every time I use one of the welders.

The Artful Bodger
05-22-2009, 05:25 AM
A range receptacle should not be used for an extension cord either


"Range receptacle"? That looks like a 10 amp plug and socket as used in Australia, New Zealand and China.

philbur
05-22-2009, 05:44 PM
Looks like you aready did.;)

Phil


Maybe I should have checked with you all before I did my own wiring.............

http://garymchxx.home.comcast.net/~garymchxx/best.jpg

yuk, yuk,


Gary