PDA

View Full Version : OT- Fixing an electric Oven

heidad01
05-21-2009, 01:04 PM
I have an electric oven that just stopped heating. Turning the knob will only cause the fan to go on (I can hear the fan running) but the heating elements on top and bottom of the oven barely get warm regardless of the temp setting. Looking inside there is only one rod/probe attached to the far wall of the oven. I am very ignorant when it comes to electronics. Is there anything alse behind the box if I took it out of the kitchen cabinet and opened the back of the oven? is this a fixable or time to buy new oven? Thanks for any ideas. DavidH.

Scishopguy
05-21-2009, 01:59 PM
I am no electrician but I have worked on a few of these things in the past. If you get the fan running and the heating elements getting slightly warm you can rule out the elements, fan, and on/off switch. I would take a guess that you have a thermostat problem. Most probably the thermocouple has gone south on you. You might be able to check it with an ohm meter (disconnected from the power of course) and see if you get a change in resistance when you change the dial setting. An appliance parts place should have an exact replacement part for a lot less than a new oven.

good luck with it

biometrics
05-21-2009, 02:01 PM
If you are not very familiar with electricity, I certainly can't recommend that your first attempt at a repair be an oven that could burn your house down if you don't get it right. If it is more than 10 years old. I would recommend that you get a new one.

It could be the wiring, the controls, and internal fuse, or maybe just a burned out heating element.

Either get a friend who knows what he is doing to help you out, or buy a new one. No sense taking chances. The voltage you are dealing with is a lot stiffer than used in a flashlight and could kill you.

rockrat
05-21-2009, 02:26 PM