PDA

View Full Version : hourly shop rates?

hawgwrench
05-22-2009, 02:36 PM
I'm sure this will differ alot due to location and specialty,but what do most of ya'll charge as an hourly rate? Input from casual partimers and full time pro's is appreciated?

thistle
05-22-2009, 03:01 PM
next job in 5 minutes , cash for consumables at cost, labour in beer and fish- hey its Friday.

motorworks
05-22-2009, 03:19 PM
Hi
Do not charge by the hour, but by the job!!!
I do this for a living as well as a hobby.
Being a "one man shop" I use carbides, build jigs for repete jobs,
have several machines so that I can set up many items at one time etc.
All to get more done in less time. Time = money.
If I charged by the hour I would go back to a flat belt drive lathe and a bench top mill (Not that there is anything wrong with these items, just it is hard to make money with them :) )

If it's a repair job, then how much is the replacement
use the 50% rule.You did not charge the customer 50% of replacement cost you saved him 50%. So what if it only took 1.5 hours!!

If you charge, charge enough!
eddie

Frank Ford
05-22-2009, 03:26 PM
In my home shop I do some stuff for pals for nothing, and some stuff for pay.

That said, when I wanted to figure out an hourly labor rate, here's the way I went about it.

I think it makes sense to base my hourly rate on a “reasonable” yearly work schedule of 40 hours a week, with two weeks off for vacation. That’s 50 weeks @ 40 hours, or 2,000 hours a year.

If I know what income I need at the bottom line, I can work backward to calculate an hourly rate.

First, I need to know my general “efficiency,” the number of hours I spend actually working at the bench rather than talking to customers, schlepping materials and parts, tool maintenance, cleanup, book work and other functions that keep my shop going. Working strictly alone, I figure that I spend somewhere near 50% of my time doing the bench work, and 50% doing all that other stuff.