PDA

View Full Version : lathe tools changing my ways

Alistair Hosie
05-22-2009, 02:59 PM
I am changing my lathe habits not my lathe ways.I had a visit from two very dear friends of mine last week when it was my birthday these guys are both great engineers.One JIm a mathematics lecturer and engineer by profession,quickly said oh I never use tungsten indexable cutters I always use h.s.s he tried my lathe and pronounced that I was cutting very poorly as my tungsten cutter was blunt and badly syharpenned from a previous encounter with the sharpenning machine I bought for the job.Anyway I now have to get used to sharpenning h.s.s cutters again and using them I always knew they were better for finishing but never realised by how much.Now I know a Lot of you need to do a lot of rough cutting and tungsten is the way to go But I am going to take his advice and give h.s.s a try once more.Alistair

Norman Atkinson
05-22-2009, 05:25 PM
A,
I'm just downloading a heap of info.which may be of interest

Cheers

N

toastydeath
05-22-2009, 06:42 PM
I'm not sure why you're blaming the tooling material for a poor finish when you've said the tool was beat?

I use carbide and indexable tooling on all the lathes I have access to, which includes many manual machines. I don't have any problems with surface finish.

This topic has come up many, many times. I still don't support that HSS gives a better finish by some innate property of the material. It's down to the user to select the right insert in the case of inserts, and also to ensure the tool has a proper edge on it in the case of brazed. Not doing it properly isn't a reason to insult the tooling material.

This is one of the inserts I use for general finishing. Uncoated, with some minimal polishing. Not a huge amount of positive rake, but something in the 7 degree ballpark. Basic chipbreaker.

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs007.snc1/4173_179059180082_692245082_6987998_5174443_n.jpg