PDA

View Full Version : Turning Stainless...

kowohtee
02-03-2002, 11:50 PM
I am very new at this,so thanks to all who respond.
How do I make a "clean smoothe" cut on S.S.?
I have a sharp carbide tool but all my cuts are a little "rough", not that smoothe "mirror like" finish. I think I am cutting it too slow. At what speed should I cut at??
Just looking for some simple advice.
Thanks all!!
TEC

KenS
02-04-2002, 05:14 AM
You're right--too slow probably. Carbide works better when driven fast and hard (in the words, more or less, of several posters here).

I learned it here, and have gone to HSS inserts when I need slow cutting in steel of most any kind. Grind your own, or have a look here: http://www.arwarnerco.com/ (also courtesy of one of the people here).

kowohtee
02-04-2002, 03:52 PM
Thanks KenS!!! I will try the HSS inserts.
TEC

snorman
02-04-2002, 09:26 PM
Spray some wd-40 or some such on it before turning. I've noticed this when facing various SS parts; it seems to cut well but ends up rough. Not sure what is happening here but the wd-40 cures it.

bspooh
02-04-2002, 10:23 PM
Now stainless steel is not hard,, it is tough..which means you need to get a good shear cut on it...use only positive cutting edges, stay ahead of the heat, and use HSS instead of carbide if you can, .Any time I cut stainless I try to use HSS because it shears better for me and I can get a better finish and longevity out of my cutting edge...Surface speed should be around 60...I am not saying that carbide sucks, I am just saying I personally have better luck with HSS...Hope this helps...if not sue me..(just kidding)

brent

Thrud
02-04-2002, 11:35 PM
kowohtee:
You are better off with the T-15 HSS Inserts that A.R.Warner sells. Their tooling is cheap too.

Carbide inserts are only better if you have a ridgid setup and you can muster from 100 to 400 SFPS - these speeds give a glass smooth surface finish wet or dry machining. Positive inserts are almost always better for what we do.