PDA

View Full Version : Scraping lathe compound/cross slide plan

Ryobiguy
06-21-2009, 03:24 PM
Just looking for a sanity check here, to see how good or bad my plan is. Feel free to blast me if anything isn't quite right here, I'm an amateur just kind of feeling out the idea.

I've got a 93 year old 13" Southbend whose compound and cross slide are loose in the middle and tight at the ends as you'd expect from wear. I'd like to someday clean up the dovetails by scraping them in against a cast iron reference that I'd have to make. For the cross-slide, this is more convenience (I don't tend to face large diameters,) but for the compound it's more important so I can get a decent taper. As it currently is, it's so loose and sloppy that the sideways force from turning the compound handle shows up in the finish. So it might just be that I only want to do the compound now, but maybe do the cross slide if I'm confident enough.

However, I do not want to scrape the ways on which both of those ride, because I would not feel comfortable doing that. Does it make any sense to scrape either compound or cross slide without first scraping the ways? I can't be sure there is no twist remaining in the bed, and I feel like I'd just screw it up worse. Is this a warning flag for asking about scraping the other parts?

For the dovetail reference, I'm planning on getting some durabar cast iron, and milling then scraping it flat and true. One side of it has the dovetail angle, and the other side is 90 degrees vertical, so I can check that the cross slide axis is perpendicular to the spindle axis by fitting the reference in the left-hand dovetail, and checking that fits flat/parallel to the faceplate.

For milling the dovetail reference, I'm planning on drilling holes and countersinking to hold the part on the table. Here's what I'm thinking, three setups after drilling: