PDA

View Full Version : need a capacitor for this motor?

softtail
06-22-2009, 01:51 PM
Hello all. I have this question into Bodine tech, but they are taking their time. So I'm switching a Delta band saw to metal. I have an 85 rpm ac 115/230 Bodine motor that I plan to run off 110. Will this thing require a capacitor? So far it doesn't work wired as per Bodine's schematic. I'm a newb at wiring...but I have a suspicion a capacitor is needed.

Thanks,

st

Evan
06-22-2009, 03:05 PM
It isn't a matter of just adding a capacitor. If it doesn't have one to run on 230vac then adding one isn't how you make it run on 117 vac. What sort of motor is it? What does it say on the nameplate?

J Tiers
06-22-2009, 08:44 PM
Very likely YES.

Please post pic of nameplate....... Most Bodine motors do need one, and usually if so will actually give the value of run capacitor that is required.

Wiring for 115 is generally simple, often shown on teh nameplate.

softtail
06-22-2009, 09:19 PM
Thanks guys. Yes Bodine got back to me and said I need one. I believe I have the one I need(375mfd, 110vac 60hz). Of course there's no wiring instructions on the Bodine site for the capacitor. From what I can gather, the two wires can go on either terminal on the capacitor, but what two wires those are(out of 6+gnd) I have no idea.

I've got the diagram on my desktop, and no web based picture service...

here's the motor page with pdf diagram:

http://www.bodine-electric.com/Asp/ProductModel.asp?Context=8&Name=48R%2DF+Series+Parallel+Shaft+AC+Gearmotor&Model=0693

st

J Tiers
06-22-2009, 09:57 PM
Thanks guys. Yes Bodine got back to me and said I need one. I believe I have the one I need(375mfd, 110vac 60hz). Of course there's no wiring instructions on the Bodine site for the capacitor. From what I can gather, the two wires can go on either terminal on the capacitor, but what two wires those are(out of 6+gnd) I have no idea.

st