PDA

View Full Version : Chambering a rimfire barrel

Ron of Va
06-23-2009, 10:25 AM
I have never chambered a barrel but I want to try. I bought Gordy Gritters barrel chambering video and found if very informative.

I thought I would start with a 22 since I have about 15 of them. Six of them are 10/22’s; you might have seen my post on “How I made my integral 10/22”. I have a couple of questions about chambering a 22 rimfire.

There are several who offer services that supposedly improve the accuracy of a 10/22 by moving the breech and shoulder back .020 and running a reamer in to cut a partial new chamber. I thought I would start there. I called Pacific Tool and Gauge and spoke to Dave. After our conversation he recommended the PTG Match reamer. He suggested I buy the one with the pilot bushing. Since I am a novice, and I expect I will screw up the first reamer, I decided to go with the less expensive solid pilot reamer, until I get the feel of what I am doing. ($40 vs $105)

Here are the questions:
Will the PTG match reamer do what I want it to do?

Should I have ordered a different reamer?

When chambering rimfire barrels, I assume you stop reaming when you get to the area of the rim where it will begin to cut for the headspace, (if the headspace is determined by the bolt)? If the headspace is not set by the bolt, then continue an additional .043?

Can I just push a 22 reamer into the chamber with something flat in the tailstock, like a ½” gage pin or should I buy, or fabricate some type of reamer pusher? (Gordy Gritters uses an expensive reamer pusher for a centerfire, I didn’t think I need one yet for a rimfire)

I assume that indicating the barrel on a rimfire is not as critical as a centerfire, since a boring bar will not be or can not be used. Say less than .001 using a pin gage in the bore mounted in a 4 jaw. Am I right on this?

I think that is all the questions I have. Thanks

Rusty Marlin
06-23-2009, 12:51 PM