PDA

View Full Version : air supply for 1/4 die grinder

peterg
07-05-2009, 05:27 PM
Hi, I am a woodturner/woodworker not a machinist but I do some metal work
to support my wood stuff. Will a 1/4 inch air hose-25ft long support the die
grinder? Do I need to go to 3/8 inch hose? Will an inline lubricator work?
Is there any chance that the lube oil will contaminate the air line?
The same air line will be used for a spray gun.
Sorry for all of the questions; but I am on a fixed income and I want to get it right the first time.
Thank you for your help. Peter in south central NJ

Dave Smith
07-05-2009, 05:43 PM
die grinders require lots of volume of air I would use 3/8" hose and lube the grinder itself. lube in the line will ruin your paint jobs or use separate hoses. good luck

aboard_epsilon
07-05-2009, 05:46 PM
yes it will contaminate the airline ..you will not be able to use that airline again for spraying.

if using the die grinder continuously ..a 14cfm comp will just about keep up with it .

all the best.markj

Bill Pace
07-05-2009, 06:12 PM
One question you didnt ask, and its probably the most important -- will my air compressor drive it?

As said, a die grinder is an air hog---but, thats not to say that with some getting familiar with how to ration your use of it that you cant get a lot of use out of one, even with a smaller compressor (I've got 2 right angles & 3 inline, I LOVE that little tool!) However those little pancake compressors and the like arent really wort considering though.

Since you mentioned painting with the same hose (lube the tool itself, not the hose) then you must have a fair sized comp, as a spray gun likes a lot of air too, so you may be alright.

And yes, the 3/8" will be better choice. A quick squirt of one of the spray lubes - LPS, liquid wrench, etc - at the conx point is sufficient for quite a lengthy work session...

oldtiffie
07-05-2009, 07:27 PM
It must be different here in OZ.