PDA

View Full Version : Mussing about milling – a rather long post for a newbie.

Falcon67
07-08-2009, 04:23 PM
Especially long for a first post. A “this is my thinking because I don’t know any better yet, slap me into reality” type post. I'm a rank amateur in the machine hobby. But not too old to learn new tricks and not much afraid of anything. I own a 9x20 that I've been using to turn decent metal into scraps and making small things with. I don't have a machining background, but I have spent a lot of time in a past working life in QA/QC working directly with a capable machine shop. I wish I had taken more advantage of that opportunity when it was around - lots of good folks in that shop that would have shared knowledge gladly. I currently do networking, internet and wireless support at a 4 year university. I also own a HF micro mill that I've used for a couple of things, but mostly discovered that its way too small for anything I might really do around here. The plastic gears in it are a decent safety feature I think. I have used the mill to finish a mount for a 5” 4 jaw chuck that runs on the lathe, so I think the spark is there. I blew a transmission last year and was able to machine a new spacer plate for the high clutch pack that saved me bucks. I also make and sell fittings to let people use AN feed lines on Ford C4 automatics. I like to tinker and I like having stuff around that lets me solve problems, including the ones of my own making. Not production – just stuff. I build my own engines, transmissions, rears, etc for the race cars and like to be as independent as I can. I recently added an HF 4x6 bandsaw that beats the heck out of a hack saw. It cuts a little off the beam, but I’m still working on it. My wife remembers her dad had a machine (probably a ShopSmith) and he made a lot of candle sticks on it. So when I bought the lathe, she wanted to know if I was going to make some candle sticks. I scored 10’ of 1 ½” aluminum bar stock at the scrap yard, so