PDA

View Full Version : Flattening cast iron surface?

denger
07-10-2009, 11:43 AM
First of all, I am not a machinist in any way. I am a woodworker, so please bear with me since I know nothing about machining metal.
I have several beautiful old hand planes. Unfortunately the soles of the planes have been bitten by rust pitting. I would like to somehow grind a layer of metal away to get to a good surface.
I have done this on one plane by just using my sharpening water stones and a ton of elbow grease, but I am out of elbow grease since it took me 2 hours and 45 minutes to do one surface by hand. Had to take a bunch of pain killers after that.
So, here comes the question: is there a way to gently grind (sand?) a surface without distorting it out of being flat too badly?
I certainly do not need high precision. I can correct somewhat out of flat sole by hand on a stone. But what would be the easiest way to take off the bulk? I am talking about taking off approximately 0.01-0.03 inches off a cast iron surface approx. 2"x16".
I cannot afford and I do not want to buy a mill or a surface grinder. I only have woodworking tools, but among them I do have a disk sander. Will that work? Any other ideas?

oldtiffie
07-10-2009, 11:48 AM
The simplest solution might be to get an opinion and a price/quote from a shop that re-conditions/grinds automotive engine heads etc.

Falcon67
07-10-2009, 12:01 PM
You could use a good, flat piece of steel or iron and wrap it with 320 grit wet/dry then use WD-40 to lube it and sand the bottom of the planes with that. Or get a small surface plate and put a bit sheet of 320 and the WD-40. Go up to 400, then 600 and see if that's smooth enough.

Bruce Griffing
07-10-2009, 12:04 PM