PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on carbide endmills on a manual mill

beanbag
07-12-2009, 07:47 AM
Hello folks,

Here's some background: I'm not totally new to machining, but I am new to paying for my own tools now and trying not to jack them up. I use a manual Bridgeport knock-off mill to cut aluminum, mild steel, and stainless.

I'm looking for a source of info that can help me maximize tool life given some of the constraints I have. Stuff like speeds and feeds, depths and widths of cuts to take, type of lubrication, tool coatings, etc. I looked at some speeds and feeds charts for some of the carbide end mills I have, but it seems like those were written for high power, rigid CNC machines that can spin up to 30K and flood the area with coolant. Or shoot sparks when machining dry. The best I can do for lubrication is brush on some oil, or squirt a pathetic drizzle of coolant here and there.

Anyway, here's just a random list of some of the questions and observations I built up over the last month. I don't expect somebody to go and just answer all of them (you can if you want, though), but maybe point me to a source where I could figure this out...

1) What if I take the speeds and feeds numbers and just scale them down so that the chip load stays constant? What bad thing will happen, besides that the coating might not heat up to full temperature? And is this even an issue in my case? Is this one of the main determinants of tool life, i.e. how many cuts it takes?

2) What should I do to get good chip removal? Should I try to avoid the 4 flute and higher end mills?

3) I only have very limited experience with a TiN and TiAlN coated end mill, but so far, I have liked their performance. Should I do dry machining on stainless and mild steel with TiAlN? How about with aluminum?