PDA

View Full Version : OT, help with USB 2.0



gvasale
07-12-2009, 12:13 PM
the desktop and the laptop both have USB 2.0 capacity, but always give this damn message: This device can perform faster if connected to a USB 2.0 (...), and a check of the device manager shows there is "enhanced" crap there. How does one get to enhance a USB port? Can they be assigned? How on earth do you know what port is in what physical location?

tony ennis
07-12-2009, 01:29 PM
gvasale, perhaps they are connected to an older USB 1.1 hub? My wife's computer has an old hub on it - she gets that error when she hooks her camera in for uploading or when she hooks her printer to it.

What are you connecting these devices to?

malbenbut
07-12-2009, 01:42 PM
Get one of these.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280359949375&ssPageName=MERCOSI_VI_ROSI_PR4_PCN_BIX&refitem=110407083972&itemcount=4&refwidgetloc=closed_view_item&refwidgettype=osi_widget&_trksid=p284.m263&_trkparms=algo%3DSIC%26its%3DI%252BC%252BP%252BS%2 52BIA%26itu%3DUCI%252BIA%252BUA%252BIEW%252BFICS%2 52BUFI%26otn%3D4%26ps%3D10

MBB

gvasale
07-12-2009, 04:51 PM
The desktop is an older, but not ancient Hp, P4 3.0 ghz PCI buss, with 4gigs or ram installed. The lapptop is a Toshiba Tecra with Intel Centrino vpro, again loaded with 3+ gigs of ram, one of the last of its type with xp pro as standard, not a downgrade from Vista, bough less than 1 year ago. Addtionally, the desktop as a compac 4 slot USB 2.0 card installed. So on it there are supposed to be 6 hi speed usb ports. At one time, the usb ports worked well with a Sandisk high speed card reader. I have had to do 3 reinstalls of xp pro, the last one with a full delete before install. Xp pro, bought from micro#$@&. I have wasted lots of time with this lately.