PDA

View Full Version : HSM shops and divorces....

Too_Many_Tools
07-12-2009, 01:44 PM
I would like to hear a discussion of what has happened to the shops of HSMers when a divorce occurs.

From what I have seen, it is not good with the contents of the shop that has taken years to accumulate usually being auctioned off.

Is this the norm or am I just seeing one side of the results?

Your thoughts?

Thanks for anything you might want to contribute.

TMT

Cheeseking
07-12-2009, 02:16 PM
I have no experience (hopefully never will) but yeah, sometimes the thought runs through a guys head. Just supposing... I'm gonna say
usually you would think this kinda eventuality is seen comming well in advance. If that be the case, I would start quietly dis-assembling, relocating, evacuating a little at a time beginning with the big$ or prized stuff. Pc or two every day on the way out to work. where? I dunno but anywhere out of reach of the opposition. She knows you have "stuff" but not exactly what. Most Lawyers and wives know jack chit about machines and tooling. They may however know you hold it dear and try to use it as leverage.

Reminds me of when you see viable small family businesses closed cause the wife demands half and forces sale of the co assets. Talk about killing the goose that lays the gonden eggs. The shrewd ones get judgements to collect the profits and let the stiff keep it running.

Liger Zero
07-12-2009, 02:22 PM
Shape-charges, thermite, and large quantities of hydrofluoric acid and mercury to saturate the ground with.

Shuuuuuure hunny, you can have the shop... lemme make a phone call real quick. *inputs final code*

:D

Too_Many_Tools
07-12-2009, 02:57 PM
I have no experience (hopefully never will) but yeah, sometimes the thought runs through a guys head. Just supposing... I'm gonna say