PDA

View Full Version : Excavator Drive Sprocket making

boslab
07-13-2009, 03:03 PM
Hi, I was looking at my drive sprockets on a 3 ton mini excavator, they look really worn and i have lost a track recently, i was wondering if making new ones was possible having never tried sprocket or gearcutting before.
i have a Cinncinatti toolmaster and a large dividing head as well as a big rotary table.
how accurate should sprockets be and what would be the preferred matirial
[i have access to Hardox and suchlike.
also can a metal track be re-pinned if worn? i know it sounds like i want to re-manufacture the whole track bed but any advice [including go buy a new one] would be welcomed.
thank you
mark

Mark Hockett
07-13-2009, 03:35 PM
You don't state what brand of machine you are working on and I am not that familiar with the mini excavators but on my D3 Cat the track pins have bushings on them. When they wear it is common practice to press the tracks apart and rotate the bushings 180 degrees and press it back together. The rear sprockets are usually fairly cheap and not worth making, plus they are a very very hard metal. The rear sprockets on my Cat are less money than the rear tires on my last sports car. For parts I would call Kent Baugh, who is a member of this forum (ktbaugh)
, and see what his prices are,
http://www.ktbaugh.com/

hardtail
07-13-2009, 04:31 PM
Unless your machine is obsolete it's usually not even worth considering making your U/C components.....years ago they would build up with weld sometimes.......if your rails are coming off there maybe more things going on.........

boslab
07-13-2009, 06:55 PM