PDA

View Full Version : SFM for Nylon?

DICKEYBIRD
07-14-2009, 08:33 AM
I must admit I've always set the speeds for cutting various materials on my lathe using the ol' Kentucky windage method. So far I've been lucky I guess. Recently, I ran across this HF contact tach/SFM meter for $29.99 and bought one. http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=66400 It has worked well for measuring all the speeds on my lathe and X3 mill. The lathe's speed chart was made useless when the original motor died and was replaced with a bigger one with different speed specs and a different pulley. The X3's speed indicator marks are a joke.

I have a small project to do for a friend and the part is nylon (which I have no experience with) so I figured I'd use my new toy. I've read that I gotta hone my HSS tool to a razor edge and the speed has to be slow enough to prevent melting. What would be a good SFM starting point? The HF tool has a contact wheel that you simply apply directly to the work as it's spinning and read out the SFM on a LCD display. Simple enough for me even!;)

Evan
07-14-2009, 09:01 AM
The basic rule for both turning and especially milling plastics in general is to keep the speed way down and the chip load as high as the work will tolerate in terms of work holding or clamping. This is most applicable to non-brittle plastics such as Nylon, acetal and polycarbonate. The actual SFM depends on the type of tool, the length of the cut (heating of tool) and the type of plastic and even the color and shelf age as well as the humidity in the case of Nylon.