PDA

View Full Version : Is this description of machining accurate?

Steve Black
07-15-2009, 04:17 PM
I'm a librarian, and the magazine columnist for Library Journal. I'm submitting a column soon about woodworking and metalworking magazines that includes the following paragraph. Is this substantially correct? --
"Machinists cut metal to exacting specifications with lathes, drills, milling machines and grinders. Machinists’ use of tools to carve away unneeded metal distinguishes their craft from smithing metal by striking it, from casting molten metal into a form, and from welding pieces together with high temperatures. Since hobbyists may use multiple techniques in pursuit of their craft, these magazines touch on smithing, casting, and welding, but their focus is on machining. “Dedicated to precision metalworking,” Home Shop Machinist (1982. b-m. $29.95. ISSN 0744-6640) describes projects and techniques for crafting from metal guns, tools, and other functional objects. Machinist's Workshop (1999. b-m. $26.95. ISSN 1521-8112) focuses on shop techniques and beginner’s projects, and Digital Machinist (2006. q. $19.95. ISSN 1933-3773) describes computer operated machining techniques for hobbyists. Despite all coming from the same publisher, the three have distinct content and graphic design."
Thank you!

kf2qd
07-15-2009, 04:18 PM
Not so sure about the "exacting specifications".

What about TLAR (that looks about right)

Carld
07-15-2009, 04:38 PM
Yeah Steve, your description reads about right.

Forrest Addy
07-15-2009, 06:17 PM
Here's my edit: