PDA

View Full Version : OT Explorer 8



GRH
07-19-2009, 01:39 PM
How bad is windows Explorer 8 ???????


Thanks Graeme

Evan
07-19-2009, 03:30 PM
When I tried to visit the NASA satellite tracking site IE8 did this:

http://ixian.ca/pics6/ie8crash.jpg

It does it on a number of sites and I haven't found any fix. I already have DEP set to system files only.

Jim Shaper
07-19-2009, 04:25 PM
It's not ready for prime time, that's for sure.

I had problems on several websites just trying to do my normal searching (looking for bathroom remodeling stuff these days). No crashes, but it wouldn't function correctly none the less. I uninstalled it and went back to IE7.

J Tiers
07-19-2009, 04:40 PM
Youtube has a nice banner saying that they will stop supporting any version of exploder except "8" soon.......

Jim Shaper
07-19-2009, 04:47 PM
There shouldn't be any problem with youtube doing that, just like MS no longer supports Win98 and it still functions just fine. Supporting it means having developers fixing issues. I'm pretty sure they haven't had any software issues with IE7 for some time now.

They'd have to be stupid to lock out their revenue stream by making the site not backwards compatible with older browsers. They make money from hits, and without a functional interface they cut their money off.

Carld
07-19-2009, 05:32 PM
It messed me up and I can no longer use IE at all. I am not using Firefox and Google Chrome. Firefox has the standard tool bar at the top to do printing, etc but Google Chrome doesn't have any features at all, just view the web sites

KiddZimaHater
07-19-2009, 06:48 PM
I installed it about 4 weeks ago, used it for 4 days, then uninstalled it and went back to IE7.
Too many problems.
Certian websites won't load, it runs SLOWWWWW, and too many bells & whistles.
I didn't like it at all.

lazlo
07-19-2009, 07:00 PM
When I tried to visit the NASA satellite tracking site IE8 did this:

http://ixian.ca/pics6/ie8crash.jpg

I just tried it on four different machines, ranging from an old K7 to a Core i7, and it works fine:

http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u15/rtgeorge_album/IE8.jpg

lazlo
07-19-2009, 07:31 PM
By the way Evan, all my machines are running XP SP3. Are you running an old OS?

Evan
07-19-2009, 08:25 PM
I have SP3. The difference is that I am running an AMD 64 with hardware DEP.

lazlo
07-19-2009, 09:06 PM
I have SP3. The difference is that I am running an AMD 64 with hardware DEP.

Right, I saw your DEP error, but all modern Intel processors (since P4/Prescott) have the same feature: the NX-bit, so I don't see why that would matter.

You're not running Win64 are you?

Evan
07-19-2009, 10:32 PM
Nope. XP Home. I haven't upgraded my laptop to IE8 and probably won't so I can't try XP Pro but it shouldn't make any difference except it is Intel Core Duo. I was under the impression that AMD handles DEP somewhat differently than Intel.

HSS
07-19-2009, 11:10 PM
Carld, I was using IE then firefox and tried chrome. IE had too many problems and chrome was kinda lackluster as you mentioned. firefox was ok but a friend told me to try Opera and I really like it. Been using it ever since at work. My wife doesn't care for opera but then she likes IE8, go figure.
Patrick

Evan
07-20-2009, 12:40 AM
I have been using Opera for a while now too. What I like about it most is the very small memory footprint.

airsmith282
07-20-2009, 09:24 AM
anything the MS realses is never ready and even when it is it still isnt the best but it works and thats all that counts, i dont mine runing windows and iam used to the failiers on IE and others so it dont bug me no more i just got the attiued now to expect something to go wronge,

just back date your iso n system restore or delete IE 8 for now and go back to 7 and you will be fine.. once 8 is more friendly then download it again and you will be fine then..

have a nice day

Jeffw5555
07-20-2009, 11:12 AM
I have tried them all and am sticking with Firefox for now. It seems to have the best overall speed & performance (Waaaaaay better than IE7....more than twice as fast on ad-loaded websites like eBay and Weather Channel).

Only gripe I have about it is it takes longer to first boot up on one of my machines. Doesn't do this on others, so don't know what the issue is...

lazlo
07-20-2009, 11:22 AM
I have tried them all and am sticking with Firefox for now. It seems to have the best overall speed & performance (Waaaaaay better than IE7....more than twice as fast on ad-loaded websites like eBay and Weather Channel).

I've tried all three, and Iron (Chrome with all the Google privacy invasion stuff removed) is the fastest, IE 8 is very close, and Firefox is the slowest.

I still mostly use Firefox because of the excellent ad blocker and all the plug-ins:

From Arstechnica. The green bars are which browser loaded the page fastest:

http://static.arstechnica.com/chrome_firefox_ie_chart.png

Evan
07-20-2009, 11:30 AM
Make these changes and it will bump Firefox to the top of the list.



Common to all configurations
These are the settings that seem to be common to all configuration files regardless of connection speed or computer speed with a couple of additions - plugin paths can be found with about:plugins and the bookmark menu delay is turned off.

user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);
user_pref("plugin.expose_full_path", true);
user_pref("ui.submenuDelay", 0);

FOR: Fast Computer Fast Connection
user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8);
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 65536);

A couple settings of note - Firefox is allocated 4096 KB of memory by default and in this configuration we give it roughly 65MB as denoted by the last line. This can be changed according to what is used.



The config file is accessed by entering about:config in the address bar.

tony ennis
07-20-2009, 12:01 PM
Youtube has a nice banner saying that they will stop supporting any version of exploder except "8" soon.......

A lot of people are still running IE6. Makes us web developers crazy. I suppose youtube can do what they want but I believe they are just making noise.

gnm109
07-20-2009, 12:27 PM
I changed to IE8 through Yahoo and had troubles with it on WIN XP Home. I erased it and then downloaded it from the Microsoft site and it's running well on a desktop and a laptop. I think that your security settings will affect how well it runs.

I've also heard many complaints about Vista but a friend recenty purchased an HP computer with Vista and it's running well also.

In any case, IE8 works well ehough to communicate with you all. Go figure.

lazlo
07-20-2009, 12:52 PM
Make these changes and it will bump Firefox to the top of the list.

If you read the article, ArsTechnica applied the same network optimizations to all three browsers.

Evan
07-20-2009, 04:11 PM
Read what article?

Rich Carlstedt
07-20-2009, 07:35 PM
You mean you fellows have not tried Safari ?
I run it on XP3 with Media center.
It smokes on downloading sites

Rich
Apple wrote it for Mac and PC's

Rich Carlstedt
07-20-2009, 07:42 PM
I have never used Safari to go to the practical machinist website, as I quit going there due to looooong download times.

I entered "practical machinist" in the Google bar on Safari, and the Google search list came up in one second.
Then I clicked on it, and got the page in 7 seconds and it instantly changed to other pages.
Wow have they changed the look there !

Rich

Same test, and IE has been there many times, so I just tried it
11 seconds to load page.
5 seconds to change pages
enough said

MTNGUN
07-20-2009, 08:52 PM
Ah, HSM's weekly "Which browser/OS is best?" thread. Maybe we should make this a sticky topic ?

Ever notice how processors keep getting faster and RAM keeps getting bigger, but day to day applications never seem to run any faster ?

I just installed a Firefox add-on called Tweak Network. It appears similar to to the old FasterFox add-on. However, it doesn't have a page load timer, so I can't measure page loads exactly to determine how much Tweak Network helps.

They say FF 3.5 is faster (that's what they say about every new version, ha ! ! ! ). I'm still waiting for the official 3.5 release for Linux. Not a big deal.

tattoomike68
07-20-2009, 09:10 PM
Opera is real fast too. Its plain jane but smokes as far as fast.

You can put it on a small USB drive and take it anywhere.

http://www.opera.com/download/