PDA

View Full Version : What are these??

toyjeep73
07-23-2009, 08:56 PM
What are these?

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll21/toyjeep1/100_0683.jpg

And what do you think all of this might be worth?

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll21/toyjeep1/100_0682.jpg

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll21/toyjeep1/100_0681.jpg

http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/ll21/toyjeep1/100_0684.jpg

Thanks for your help .. I am new to machinist accessories and have a chance to buy this at what I think is a good price.

tattoomike68
07-23-2009, 09:03 PM
Those are dill jig bushings. A nice pile of them.

toyjeep73
07-23-2009, 09:06 PM
Those are dill jig bushings. A nice pile of them.

Ok, can you give me an example of what I would use them for?

juergenwt
07-23-2009, 09:07 PM
All belongs to a tool maker. Assortment of drill bushings. Planer Gage (hang on to it). Assortment of parallels, sine bar, straight edge and all kind of reamers and pins. Toolmakers vise, angle plate, matching V-blocks, riser blocks.
All came from a toolmakers toolbox. We like to collect those things. Can't work without it.
Drill bushings are uses to guide a drill to a part held in a drill jig. They are part of the jig.

Carld
07-23-2009, 09:22 PM
The drill guides are used in jigs and fixtures to keep from wearing out the jig or fixture.

If you don't have a planer or shaper that tool is practically worthless. I have one and have never used it in 20 years.

The photo with the sine bar, parallels and reamers is useful tools. You may seldom use the sine bar, probably never, but the parallels are used with a mill and very handy. The reamers are nice to have and keep them oiled.

The next photo is a tool makers vise, small angle plate and 1-2-3 blocks. All of them are very useful on a mill.

What to pay? Well, if you have a mill everything may be worth $40-50 dollars but the drill guides are more or less worthless to you unless you do a lot of production work that would need them.

Mcruff
07-23-2009, 10:22 PM