PDA

View Full Version : Logan 10" Lathe ?



Bmyers
07-24-2009, 11:13 AM
Can a fellow 10" Logan owner tell me how to check and fill the oil in the apron of a logan 10" lathe ? I know I should get a manual, but cash is kinda tight right now.
thanks,
Brent

recoilless
07-24-2009, 03:05 PM
Bmyers:

Haven't used my 820 in a while, but on mine there is a plug you remove from the front of apron, this will dictate the top of oil level. The worm and worm gear (the source of power feed) need to be in the oil bath. Otherwise, well, it gets bad!

My 820 was made in 1946, I'm not sure how or if things changed over the years...however, it is a real simple process

Bmyers
07-24-2009, 03:23 PM
thanks,
there is a plug in mine too. remove the left top screw to fill.

eckns
07-24-2009, 03:42 PM
Yep, thats the way I fill my 820. Need a little funnel, fill till the oil just runs out. That's it.