PDA

View Full Version : Parting Off Problems

pconnect92352
07-24-2009, 01:51 PM
I am a beginner to lathe work and am having problems with parting off. I seem to have the same problem every time. First is chatter. I get past the chatter by pushing into the work a litter harder which results in a small ribbon of material being cut. All goes well, or I think it does until I get most of the way thru when I no longer get a ribbon of material just small shavings and I am not cutting the material. I have re sharpened the toolbit, checked to make sure I am on center, added oil, but still the cutting action has stopped. The other day I attempted again. Same results, so I pushed the toolbit in a little harder to continue the cutting. The result was a disaster, the toolbit pulled under the work and suddenly a sharp crack sound then the tool post itself pulled under the work. I quickly stopped checked everything and found that the compound slide/toolpost slide had broken in half. Beside replacing the slide, which is turning out to be a difficult task, what the heck am I doing wrong?

Rusty Marlin
07-24-2009, 02:02 PM
your tool is above center. Set it .001-.003 below center.

winchman
07-24-2009, 02:15 PM
I agree.

The radius is larger at the start of the cut, so it works OK. Once the radius gets down to a certain point, the tip of the tool isn't touching anymore. The contact point has shifted to the flat surface just below the tip. More pressure created enough friction to drag the tool tip down just enough to dig in with disastrous results.

That's a real shame about busting your lathe. I hope it's one with replacement parts available for a reasonable cost.

Roger

Jack F
07-24-2009, 02:19 PM