PDA

View Full Version : Strength of material issue or bad design?

Greg Parent
08-13-2009, 01:25 PM
Hello everyone,

Anyone know of a good 'strength of materials' website site?

I am trying to design a 5" diameter thrust plate and need to know if 0.375" thick material held with 0.125" screws is good enough for the application or if I should go up to 0.5" material and larger diameter screws.

Eight 0.125" stainless steel machine screws will be holding this plate from moving inside a cylinder. The 0.375" material leaves 0.125" of material above and below the screws threaded holes.

I have the initial force calculated at 550 pounds spread out over the 8 screws. Is 0.125" of 6061-T6 aluminum plate above the screws strong enough? Are the 0.125" stainless steel machine screws the weakest link?

Sure wish I was an engineer.

Thanks for any input you may have.

Greg

Rich Carlstedt
08-13-2009, 02:25 PM
Greg
You are not giving all the information needed to get a good decision.
let me try to answer, but I may be making an "assumption" that is in error.

First, is the 1/8 aluminum plate threaded and the screws use it, for retaining the 3/8" plate ?
Or,
is the 3/8" plate threaded, and the screw heads mount in the 1/8" plate.
big difference here.
The force on a screw in tension is relegated to the minor diameter. That is the smallest cross-sectional area.
Lets answer that first. You need the strength of the SS you intend to use.
Lets go with 60,000 pounds, a low strength SS
When you stretch a bolt, its called tension and thats where 'tensile strength"(TS)
So the SS has the ability to hold 60 K (K=000) of load.
a 5-40 screw has a minor diameter of about .094"
That is a area of (.047 x.047x 3.14= ).0069 ( lets say .007 square inches !)
So .007 x 60K= 416 pounds.
Since in a stress situation, you want a SF (safety factor) of 3 (or 4), we could say each screw can handle 140 pounds of load.
So Dave your screws are OK, as 5 would handle 700 pounds.