PDA

View Full Version : O/T Clutch Saftety Switches On Vehicles With Manual Transmissions

jr45acp
08-16-2009, 10:34 AM
The issue: If the clutch isn't fully depressed and the clutch safety switch hasn't been engaged the vehicle will not start.

The concern: If the safety switch fails in the middle of nowhere, it would appear to me that you're parked.

The question: Is there a safe way to over ride or otherwise deactivate this switch?

For the life of me, I can't get my head around them having been put on manual Trannies. I've been using manuals on trucks, tractors, etc, since I was around 12 years old and the absence of this device was never a problem.

In this case I'm referring to a one ton ford pickup.

Any and all thoughts are greatly appreciated.

alanganes
08-16-2009, 10:53 AM
I have no idea what they are like now, but on the old dodge van I used to drive the switch was mounted right up next to the clutch pedal arm. It was on a bracket attached to the firewall, I think. When it started getting intermittent, I just pulled the connector off, jumped the 2 pins with a bent up paperclip and wrapped a bunch of electrical tape around it. I kidded myself by saying it was a temporary fix and that I would replace the switch "when I had a chance..."

It went off to the bone yard about 5 years later with the paperclip and tape still intact. I never missed it.

Not sure where such switches are located on newer trucks, but I'd guess the paperclip would still work.

Falcon67
08-16-2009, 11:04 AM
Most of the "neutral safety" switches I've worked with are normally open, meaning that you can jumper across the contacts and start the vehicle.

wierdscience
08-16-2009, 11:20 AM
The last Ford one ton I drove the neutral saftey was in the tranny,so long as it was in neutral it would crank,the clutch being in or out made no difference.

J Tiers
08-16-2009, 12:21 PM