PDA

View Full Version : 6"Craftsman lathe ???

laddy
09-16-2003, 06:13 PM
Hey,
I am completely new at this and feeling my way along using books. I flipped a small arm behind the inner part of the head stock thinking that this is how to get into back gear but it just binds the gears up tight and the belt just spins around the frozen pulleys. How do you get into back gear? Thanks fo the help, I'll learn this stuff somehow (?).

G.A. Ewen
09-16-2003, 06:24 PM
You have to disengage the spindle pully when using the back gears. I am not familiar with your lathe but there should be a pin or a bolt with a knurled head the turns with the spindle pully. Hope this helps.

Evan
09-16-2003, 07:05 PM
Go to this page for a detailed description of how to engage backgear on your lathe. It is not obvious.

http://www.lathes.co.uk/craftsman/page5.html

Samuel
09-16-2003, 07:12 PM
what kind of 6" craftsman do you have .. ie serieal #, i have a 39' 6" craftsman atlas , I might be amble to help... on my lathe you must open the headstock "lid" and look for a pin on the face of the large drive gear, there will be indexing hole on the outer rim and if you slowly hand turn your headstock there should be a "pin" just in away from the indexing holes that can be pulled in the direction of the head stock,releasing the meachanism that is required for the back gears to run. someitmes they are sticky, my machine required a teardown because the oil that had been used on it the last time (30) years ago had turned into something similar to cosmoline ie sticky on all the wrong places. let me know if there is anything else that you need help with... i would also like to mention that there is a yahoo groud dedicated to atlas/craftsman lathes and machines.. they really helped me get to know my machine..

Regards,

Samuel

[This message has been edited by Samuel (edited 09-16-2003).]

laddy
09-16-2003, 07:30 PM
Hey, Thanks Guys, I was feeling a bit retared that I couldn't figure this out

Del