PDA

View Full Version : PM really has some odd ads......



J Tiers
08-18-2009, 10:32 PM
Now including apparent snake oil!

In the sidebar, I spotted a full height advert that said, if I can recall correctly, "Never buy electricity", and below that, something like "make it at home, simple, cheap............", with a big arrow, I suppose you were intended to click on it, which I did NOT do.

Now, I didn't follow the link, and so I may be wrong, but it surely looked like the usual sort of 'over unity" scheme would have been at the other end of the link. Had all the right appearances for genyuwyne snake oil.

Yeesh. What next?

As I understand it, that particular space is not under Milacron's direct control, it's rented by an ad service, so don't be blaming him for it.

The ad service must be really digging for advertisers.

gnm109
08-18-2009, 11:22 PM
There's some awfully good posters and information over there but since the ads came in, I have to wait for the ads to clear before I get to the text.

For the record, I have a 2gHz machine with 2Gb Ram and a 6 MBPS DSL line and it's still slow, slower than any other site I visit. For that reason, I limit my visits there more recently.

I guess I could change to Firefox which I have heard can block the ads but for one website, it's not worth it so I just put up with it when I go there.

I agree, the ads are sometimes rather odd, considering Milacron's tight controls on the regular posters.

PSD KEN
08-18-2009, 11:37 PM
Hint: Use Firefox and Ad Blocker plus, no more ads!

Carld
08-18-2009, 11:54 PM
Interesting that you should post this. I just ran Spybot and then tried to view PM and it took more than a minute to load everything to view the General new forum. I closed it and opened it again and it loaded pretty fast. I ran spybot and it only showed one issue.

If I run the hard drive clean up it does the same thing but only with PM. I have wondered just what is being loaded on my 'puter when on PM. Also, PM is not as good as it was before Don changed the site. Many of the old posters don't post anymore and the content has changed as well as the posters.

dp
08-19-2009, 01:15 AM
Interesting that you should post this. I just ran Spybot and then tried to view PM and it took more than a minute to load everything to view the General new forum. I closed it and opened it again and it loaded pretty fast. I ran spybot and it only showed one issue.

If I run the hard drive clean up it does the same thing but only with PM. I have wondered just what is being loaded on my 'puter when on PM. Also, PM is not as good as it was before Don changed the site. Many of the old posters don't post anymore and the content has changed as well as the posters.

The server was having some odd problems earlier tonight. I tested it from sites I run in Seattle, Los Angeles, Hawaii, and London and it was the same everywhere. It lasted about 15 minutes and now it's back to normal.

As for what is being loaded, lots of stuff! I block it all in my caching proxy not just for that site but for all sites. If you use Firefox get the Ghostery plug-in to see what is there and everywhere you visit. And it's hard to be Noscript.

Now having said that, I still believe Don needs to cover his expenses so it would be a good gesture to throw him a bone in the way of a paypal donation or some other gift to help cover his costs.

J.Ramsey
08-19-2009, 03:02 AM
Hint: Use Firefox and Ad Blocker plus, no more ads!


+ 1 for Firefox/Ad Blocker .

psomero
08-19-2009, 03:45 AM
+ 1 for Firefox/Ad Blocker .

make that +2

Doc Nickel
08-19-2009, 05:52 AM
Now, I didn't follow the link, and so I may be wrong, but it surely looked like the usual sort of 'over unity" scheme would have been at the other end of the link.

-You're not wrong, that is precisely what it is. The same person/company/etc. wanted to place a similar ad on my comic strip, through Project Wonderful. The site even says "over unity" right on the front page, in the second paragraph. I declined the ad. :D

They're definitely making a full court press on advertising- I've seen the same ads over on MAKE:Blog and Toolmonger.

Doc.

aboard_epsilon
08-19-2009, 06:16 AM
Hint: Use Firefox and Ad Blocker plus, no more ads!

ive blocked the adds ..and it still takes the same time to load :(

all the best.markj

Mcgyver
08-19-2009, 07:38 AM
so its not just me; that when you click on something you get the banner across the top and then it sits for a minute. grrrrrr. i don't mind the ads, I get why they are there, but that wait is frustrating

wierdscience
08-19-2009, 07:51 AM
Funny,it loads fast from here,almost as fast as HSM.

J Tiers
08-19-2009, 09:10 AM
Funny,it loads fast from here,almost as fast as HSM.

+1..... the long delays are a thing of the past.

Ken_Shea
08-19-2009, 09:21 AM
Pretty fast loading here as well.

JCHannum
08-19-2009, 09:25 AM
The long delays are not a thing of the past for me. It takes as long or longer to load as ever, just a different screen. What makes it worse, is that you have to go through the same routine with evey page you open.

I take a look there every couple of days, I just did, in hopes of improvement, but none has been forthcoming for months now. Too bad, it will not survive unless major changes are made.

I tried a couple of the suggested fixes, with little or no improvement. It is not worth jumping through hoops to get on.

Ken_Shea
08-19-2009, 09:30 AM
JC, you on satellite?

JCHannum
08-19-2009, 09:39 AM
No, dial up.

Falcon67
08-19-2009, 10:44 AM
Just FYI from a net admin perspective. The way the web works, your browser sends nothing more than a "GET" and then all the stuff from that site comes down to your PC. There are a lot of hops between you and them, sometimes as many as 20~30 jumps through routers, across other providers, etc. It's 20 hopes from my office to some places not 5 miles away, with the traffic going through Lubbock or Dallas (200 miles from here). Your local connection bandwidth is only a part of the whole thing. It only takes one unit between you and them to slow it down for you, while the other guy gets the info quick. Speed can also be impacted by how many hits that site is getting or if the site host is using shared hosting or virtual hosting, how much traffic is crossing that interface. Yes the ads slow it down and add to the bits crossing the interface, but so can phase of the moon and status of the internet too. Nobody like ads anyway. ;)

dp
08-19-2009, 11:16 AM
I just clicked the PM New Posts link and here's what my proxy did with it:

TCP_MISS/302 398 GET http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/search.php? - DIRECT/209.216.209.188 text/html
TCP_MISS/200 13668 GET http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/search.php? - DIRECT/209.216.209.188 text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html
TCP_DENIED/403 1386 GET http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads? - NONE/- text/html

MISS means it was not cached or has changed since it was cached which you'd expect for a New Posts link. TCP_DENIED links are those I've added as a macro and my proxy will not forward the request. Cached content is loaded straight into my browser from my proxy if my browser hasn't already cached it.

So what is pubads? Here's the DNS response:

pubads.g.doubleclick.net. 86396 IN CNAME partnerad.l.doubleclick.net.
partnerad.l.doubleclick.net. 296 IN A 74.125.127.156
partnerad.l.doubleclick.net. 296 IN A 74.125.127.157
partnerad.l.doubleclick.net. 296 IN A 74.125.127.154
partnerad.l.doubleclick.net. 296 IN A 74.125.127.155

It is an alias for a DNS name with four IP addresses. Note that each 296 seconds this information expires so it has to be requested again. The PM site generates a buttload of net traffic. Then there's all the JavaScript that has to be downloaded, much of it is chained so it has to be tokenized and interpreted before it can download the next chain. Because of the chaining the weakest link can delay page rendering. Then there is the tracking and behavior stuff that Google Analytics adds to the mix - that is run on this site, too.

Since a lot of what is finally downloaded is actually quite dynamic and changes all the time this list of links may not appear the next time I load the New Posts link.

Ken_Shea
08-19-2009, 12:42 PM
You can also from a CMD window
type - ping practicalmachinist.com
and see where the delays are.

aboard_epsilon
08-19-2009, 01:29 PM
You can also from a CMD window
type - ping practicalmachinist.com
and see where the delays are.
if the site wasnt down you could .. :D

ietech
08-19-2009, 02:14 PM
No, dial up.

Dial - up that just Might????? be "part" of the problem:D

Don't really know tho --- I rarely have a problem with PM but when I do it's a real PITA

tony ennis
08-19-2009, 03:08 PM
PM is always fast for me.

If he uses Doubleclick for his ads then that can be an issue. Sometimes Doubleclick slows down the works.

JCHannum
08-19-2009, 05:54 PM
Dial - up that just Might????? be "part" of the problem:D

Don't really know tho --- I rarely have a problem with PM but when I do it's a real PITA

It is not a problem on this and other sites I visit. I am in the process of switching to cable, occasioned by other reasons.

PM has been having problems for several months now, and I have seen no improvement. I am not big on computers, they serve a function. If it is not convenient for me to access a site, I skip it. I suspect PM has turned away many new members as a result of it's poor performance.

Peter S
08-19-2009, 09:29 PM
I am on dial-up and wonder if anyone here can help with a problem I have with PM.

When I open a new page with lots of images in the thread, it takes a good long while for all the images to appear. That is because of my dial-up connection and I live with it.

However, when I return to that same page, even a few minutes later, the same slow loading takes place all over again. I am sure that in the past these images were somehow stored in my computer (?), because a previously visited page with images would open instantly.

My question is - is there some setting I need to change on my computer to remember these previously visited pages, e.g. from the day before? I have a new hard drive, so might have different settings?

BTW, I am doing OK with PM at present, thanks in part to a tip DP gave us a few weeks back. Still much slower than here, but bearable (occasionally takes a few minutes to open a page, but usually seconds).

Thanks for any help!

JCHannum
08-19-2009, 09:58 PM
On this board, PM and others, you can go to User CP, click on options and in user options select to turn off images, avatars and signature lines.

The photos will show as links that you can open if you choose. The others don't show.

This will speed your browsing and eliminate the avatars & sigs that are nothing but a waste of time after the first time you see them.

Ken_Shea
08-19-2009, 10:11 PM
Peter,
To answer your question, yes there is and I thought I could go right to it, but cannot locate it.
The setting flag checks for new content with each page load or not.

Ken


SPOKE TOO FAST:

Start > Control Panel > Internet Options > Temporary internet files > Select "Never"
Then you can refresh pages that are of interest to you if need be,

Ken

dp
08-19-2009, 10:39 PM
I am on dial-up and wonder if anyone here can help with a problem I have with PM.

Being in NZed you've got some additional problems with the global network. If you're running Firefox I'd be interested in trying some experiments this weekend if you're up to it. My proxy is usable by anyone on the internet and I'd like to test it outside my area to see if it helps. It will take just 30 or so minutes of your time, and I have to crack open my firewall a bit.

All that is involved is to configure your browser to use my proxy for a short time while you do your normal net surfing. If it works as expected I'll be able to show everyone how to set it up at no cost in your home/office using your own equipment.

PM me if you have interest.

PSD KEN
08-19-2009, 10:45 PM
The persons finding PM slow, do you go direct to the forums listings?

Bypassing home page speeds things up.

My speed to Christchurch is about the same as to NY.
This site allows you to check speeds world wide.

http://www.speedtest.net/

Peter S
08-20-2009, 09:15 PM
Peter,
To answer your question, yes there is and I thought I could go right to it, but cannot locate it.
The setting flag checks for new content with each page load or not.

Ken


SPOKE TOO FAST:

Start > Control Panel > Internet Options > Temporary internet files > Select "Never"
Then you can refresh pages that are of interest to you if need be,

Ken

Ken,

Thanks for that. I tried your tip, (it was previously set to "automatically") however it would take some getting used to having to "refresh" every page to see the latest posts etc. So not really practical for me. It seems to me that my computer used to store images from a previous visit, but also show the latest posts on every visit.

aboard_epsilon
08-21-2009, 06:58 AM
yeah i tried that as well PETER...did not make it any faster ..in the page transitions ..

i even tried switching off the avg and firewall..still no good .

i used to go there a lot and read lots ...now i just visit the SB FORUM ...and even that is annoyingly slow .

from pressing on the link in my favourites to load up.

16 secs

to go to the SB forum 20 secs

to go to a subject on the forum 20 secs page two of subject 20 secs

to back out of the subject ...20 secs


and this is a fast day for it ..it can take a whole min sometimes ..

and I'm on this speed


http://www.speedtest.net/result/545108897.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

al;l the best.markj

John Stevenson
08-21-2009, 07:10 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/545113671.png

That's a neat site Mark.

Evan
08-21-2009, 07:23 AM
This is why I hate my satellite service. This time of day is when I have the fastest service. It's slower or nonexistent at other times and is usually down in the morning for an hour or two.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545120810.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

John Stevenson
08-21-2009, 07:42 AM
Evan, It's not your service it's Prince Rupert :D

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545131426.png#

S_J_H
08-21-2009, 07:52 AM
Looks like I'm good to go.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/545136751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545140296.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Evan
08-21-2009, 08:32 AM
It's my service alright.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545158848.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

J Tiers
08-21-2009, 08:38 AM
I note that "Milacron" requested that the ad go away, and it did....... only to reappear in other places on the page.

The thread concerning it is now "closed", but the ad is still present.

I guess that there are not enough US machinery companies left to fill the ad slots on the site, so only the "get good stuff for free" companies are left to advertise....:rolleyes:

John Stevenson
08-21-2009, 08:40 AM
It's my service alright.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545158848.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Evan, perhaps it's wired backwards ? :D
Try linking to Coventry in the UK

Peter S
08-21-2009, 08:47 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/545163157.png (http://www.speedtest.net)


:( steam-powered? Nah, water-wheel driven with too many knots in the string between the cans... :o

Evan
08-21-2009, 08:53 AM
That's our maximum speed. It's throttled. For some reason it's working much better than usual this AM.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/545170710.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Ken_Shea
08-21-2009, 09:21 AM
My connection is 2.96 / .036 and the page load is pretty much immediate, the delay could be and often is, generated before you get there, when it's slow try pinging the site and see where the holdup is.

oldtiffie
08-21-2009, 09:31 AM
Evan, perhaps it's wired backwards ? :D
Try linking to Coventry in the UK

John.

That IS unkind.

Fancy YOU sending EVAN "to Coventry".


To send one to Coventry; a punishment inflicted by officers of the army on such of their brethren as are testy, or have been guilty of improper behaviour, not worthy the cognizance of a court martial. The person sent to Coventry is considered as absent; no one must speak to or answer any question he asks, except relative to duty, under penalty of being also sent to the same place. On a proper submission, the penitent is recalled, and welcomed by the mess, as just returned from a journey to Coventry.

From:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Send_to_Coventry

aboard_epsilon
08-21-2009, 09:45 AM
you can only ping the entry page which is sort of ok'ish ..'cause it dont have adverts

www.practicalmachinist.com/ (http://www.practicalmachinist.com/)

but not my entry page which is ..wont ping it

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/index.php

..it wont let you ping the others either.

all the best.markj

Ken_Shea
08-21-2009, 09:52 AM
you can only ping the entry page which is sort of ok'ish ..'cause it dont have adverts

www.practicalmachinist.com/ (http://www.practicalmachinist.com/)

but not my entry page which is ..wont ping it

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/index.php

..it wont let you ping the others either.

all the best.markj

Yeah, I could never understand that either on pinging only the home page.
Still, it's useful information, once you are there you will know whether or not the delay is on the way or on their server.

Ken

aboard_epsilon
08-21-2009, 09:52 AM
John.

That IS unkind.

Fancy YOU sending EVAN "to Coventry".



From:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Send_to_Coventry

funny ...i thought it was all connected with the fact that the British let the Germans bomb Coventry ..the mod knew they were coming and didn't evacuate the city

the Brits kept quite (silent not talking and not letting Coventry know).....so the secret of how they knew (they had decoded enigma) did not get to the Germans.

all the best.markj