PDA

View Full Version : DRILL DOCTOR??

ZINOM
09-16-2003, 02:11 AM
I am seriously thinking of picking up one of these units, they seem to be a legit product that would be of use for some time to come.

However, I don't know which model I need....one model is for 118 degree drills, and the other is for 118 and 135.....now bear in mind I'm new to this, but after checking the angles on a few drills that I use commonly, they didn't seem to be either of those angles exactly....I'm wondering how much difference it makes if I got the one for 118 and conformed my drills to that spec as they needed sharpening.
Or would I be better off conforming them all to 135 as the need arose?

If I can get away with all my drills being 118, that would be cheaper I believe.

I work mostly in 1018, brass, and cast bronze, and use drills from 5/64-25/64 (roughly)with a center drill to start most holes if that has any bearing on anything.

Thanks for taking the time....my knowledge is limited and common sense only goes SO far.

John

dnsbss
09-16-2003, 06:08 AM
I have one that I have hardly used but it works great. Tool Crib has the 750 model for $129 freight paid. Comes with a storage case which joy will want,unless you use it everyday.

Paul Gauthier
09-16-2003, 06:56 AM
I have one also, good tool. They come with a fine grit wheel, but one can order a coarse grit wheel from their website. You will want it. If I remember right it was about $20.00. Worth it.

------------------
Paul G.

kruszert
09-16-2003, 07:55 AM