PDA

View Full Version : black oxide coating

c&smachine
09-29-2003, 10:32 AM
has anyone had any experience with black oxide coating on steel parts? Any information is appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

mpbush
09-29-2003, 11:05 AM
We build several hundred M1 Garand rifles a while back from parts and used a variety of finishes, one of which was black oxide. We had a local plating shop do it and the quality varied. Somtimes it came off like paint others it wore quite well and looked good.

I am not sure if you looking to do it yourself or what sort of info your looking for. There are a number of processes that are quite doable in the small shop depending on the volume of work.

GM69camaro
09-29-2003, 11:22 AM
I'm not an expert on this, but if you are considering one of the inexpensive do-it-yourself black oxide kits, you should know that there is a difference in quality between the commercial BO and the home kit BO. The kit I have produces a black oxide that rubs off after a short period of time. It's better than nothing but not as good as the real thing.

SGW
09-29-2003, 12:37 PM
There was a thread on this a while ago; you may want to check back in the archive.

The process is basically a variant of gun blueing, you just end up with a different oxide that's black instead of dark blue. There is "hot blueing" and "cold blueing." The hot blueing involves some pretty caustic chemicals and, while is can be done at home (see www.brownells.com (http://www.brownells.com) for the chemicals and instructions), it's quite a production and hardly worth it unless you're REALLY serious about doing a lot of pieces.